My nexus was perfect...

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by wolstonc, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Apps have the ability to load on boot, and many apps do just that. They claim that it's so they can check for updates, or enable you to receive notifications of events. If that is the issue, rebooting won't help, as apps will load themselves right back up again.

    I should reiterate/clarify. I'm not suggesting that you start using a task killer regularly, and certainly not an automatic task killer. Just that you should use one as a one-shot deal because they are a good way to see what is in memory and how much resources it is using.
     
  2. Oliver84

    Oliver84 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    EDIT: I just installed it and 100% changed my mind. This app is EXACTLY what you need. The historical memory consumption is a paid-only feature, but current use is probably enough for solving your problem.

    I just installed it and it comes up to show applications that are "Active", "Service-Only", and "Inactive".

    Ignore the "Inactive", as they taking up space in memory just because memory happens to have space (cached) - they will be kicked out as soon as you need the space.

    "Active" applications should pretty much just include the Launcher and the app you are currently in (SystemPanel Lite)

    "Service-Only" is where you'll find a lot of surprises. Things sitting in memory, claiming that they have to stay in memory and use CPU for some reason.

    Some interesting processes running on my Nexus:
    Amazon AppStore - taking up 26mb, probably so that it can automatically notify of updates. That's 26mb I'll never get back
    LightFlow - Taking up 26mb as well. That's providing a useful service, but 26mb seems like a lot to make an LED light up.
    Facebook Messenger - 28.1MB
    Pure calendar Widget - 24.0MB
    Rocket Bunnies - 23.7MB. RocketBunnies is a GAME. What is it doing in memory? I'm not playing it. I guess I'm uninstalling it now. (It is a fun game, but there's no reason for it to have a service)
    Swype - 41.8MB. Yep, the keyboard takes up a lot of memory
    Volume+ - 24.0MB. How much do you want volume?

    Active: 81MB
    Service-Only: 417.2MB

    And this is when I'm not doing anything at all with the phone. Just sitting idle, I'm using more than twice the ram than my Motorola Droid even had available. Add a few more rogue apps and that number will creep up and become larger than the total memory - services and foreground apps (like the launcher) will swap in and out of memory, causing delays when you hit home when it has to restart launcher.
     
    #15 Se7enLC, Jan 7, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2012
  4. Oliver84

    Oliver84 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The "History" feature is a paid feature. But you can monitor memory usage and cpu usage in real time in the free version. It's great for battery and memory troubleshooting which are my main concerns right now...
     
  5. wolstonc

    wolstonc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I don't show many running apps on startup. Mainly the stock apps, a game, and stuff like that. But maybe a task killer can see more. I'll try this soon

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  6. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    I would advise Nova Launcher and Beam LWP...or a static wallpaper. Phone runs the absolute with this configuration. IMHO
     
  7. HikenGruven

    HikenGruven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Towson, MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ugh, I use to pull my hair out over the redraw on my Droid 1. I don't know what I would have done without ZepplinRox's v6 supercharger script. If you go under the developer options, there is a option where you can select how many apps run in the background, i.e. standard limit, one or two, etc. I usually leave it on one or two and my phone has been speedy thus far. I have noticed though that when I reboot, it automatically goes back to the standard limit. Is that making a difference or is it just in my head?
     
Search tags for this page
android out of memory galaxy nexus
,
galaxy nexus low memory
,

galaxy nexus memory leak

,

galaxy nexus out of memory

,
galaxy nexus out of ram
,

galaxy nexus running out of ram

,
galaxy nexus, out of memory
,
ram galaxy nexusnlag
,
runningnout of ram fakaxy nexus
,
samsung galaxy nexus out of memory