My market is broken, I don't how to fix it.

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Silverwing, Oct 31, 2010.

  1. Silverwing

    Silverwing Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello,

    I have a Samsung Fascinate. My phone isn't rooted, there is no custom anything installed. I downloaded "Fancy Widget" a few days ago and updated it. It said "Updating" for the past day. I cannot click on the "updating" to cancel it. So I restarted the phone. It still says installing. So I deleted "Fancy Widget" but it still says installing. I cannot uninstall it again, or install it. Everything is grayed out. I restarted my phone again - nothing. What am I supposed to do so I can install it?

    Thanks for the help

    EDIT: I prompted the market itself to uninstall updates which appears to have reset my market because after I started it again it had the EULA pop up. It works now.

    Just in case anybody else encounters a similar problem: Settings>Applications>All>Market>Uninstall Updates

     
    #1 Silverwing, Oct 31, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2010
  2. titans

    titans Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try going into Settings>Applications>All>Market>Clear Data, reboot, try again
     
  3. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    The first thing I would do is go to settings > apps > manage applications > all > market and clear data/cache

    See if that works.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  4. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,336
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,809
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    try going into setting: applications: select all at the top and then go to the market app. clear data. Reopen the market and see if it works then.
     
  5. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lol triple suggestion

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  6. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,336
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,809
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    I hope one of us is right.....
     
  7. Silverwing

    Silverwing Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Alright, the only option I had was "clear cache". I did that. I restarted the phone immediatly thereafter, it still says "installing" - nothing has changed. Yikes.
     
  8. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    The option for clear data was grayed out?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  9. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,336
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,809
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Rebooting shouldn't be needed. Make sure it was Market and not Market Updater.
     
  10. Silverwing

    Silverwing Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    There was no option to clear data, in its place it says "uninstall updates" - I was only offered clear cache.
     
  11. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,336
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,809
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    do you have an option to force stop?
     
  12. Silverwing

    Silverwing Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I force stopped it, nothing. Force stopped and restarted, nothing.

    I prompted it to uninstall updates which appears to have reset my market because after I started it again it had the EULA pop up. It works now.

    Thanks everyone, I was beginning to be really frustrated.
     
Search tags for this page

how to fix my broken android os

,
my android market is broken
,
my market isn't working on my android