1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

My location is stuck on Mount Prussia, PA. I live in VA

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by bustinloose82, Feb 21, 2010.

  1. bustinloose82
    Offline

    bustinloose82 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not sure what happened, but I noticed it today when I was showing my Droid to a customer. I was showing them Urbanspoon when I realized the location was not correct and was wondering if it was a virus or a corrupt app or what? Has anyone had any problem with location? I've rebooted my phone several times and it won't change to my location. FYI, I've never been to Mount Prussia, PA.
  2. Russ2387
    Offline

    Russ2387 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I'm connected to my microcell at home on cape cod, my droid thinks I'm in ny city. Guess that's where my signal is comming from
  3. SGTiger
    Offline

    SGTiger New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you inside where you cannot get a good gps signal? Or, is your GPS turned off. In either of those two cases, aGPS is used instead of GPS which means a MUCH less accurate location reading.
  4. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Did you enable "Use GPS Satellites"? Tap settings, tap location & security, tap Use GPS.

    Hope this helps

    Mike
  5. bustinloose82
    Offline

    bustinloose82 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is very weird...somehow it changed back to my location.
  6. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I believe that without that particular setting enabled the GPS is secondary and the phone relies on cell towers. The good news is the phone now has the correct location with GPS.

    Mike
  7. Palmyra
    Offline

    Palmyra New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Just North of Columbus Ohio
    There has been some strangeness with the GPS/Location since an unaccounted for sync last Friday. Mine got itself corrected over night. There are a couple of threads on this.

    FYI - There is an app called Antennas that displays the locations of the towers near you. There is a Mount Prussia PA just north of Morgantown, WVA but that is a long way from even the northern most tip of VA.
Search tags for this page

android gps stuck on location

,

android net location stuck

,

change location in urbanspoon

,

change locatoin in urbanspoon

,

city location stuck on droid phone

,

how to change location on urban spoon app

,

urbanspoon wont change location

,

why is droid location stuck on city i am not near