My LEGO Multimedia Dock (pics)

Discussion in 'Android Accessories' started by Oohyeah, Dec 30, 2009.

  1. Oohyeah

    Oohyeah Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought I would share pics of the multimedia dock I made from lego this morning, after being inspired to do so from this thread:

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-hacks/2425-how-diy-media-car-dock-2.html#post33211

    I had some spare time this morning so I dug out my daughter's Lego bricks to try to make one. Most of hers were the big type (Duplo) so they weren't any good for this, but found a small stack of cheap non-lego bricks. With just the limited bricks I had, I managed to create this after about 10 minutes:

    (btw, sorry for all the crap in the background!)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    And this is how it looks with the Droid (actually a Milestone) on it, running DockRunner!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The great thing about these docks are:

    1. It can accommodate the charging cable

    2. It can accommodate protective covers, like the Seidio I'm using.

    3. You can leave the keyboard open (I love the keyboard, btw. When a text message comes in, I can quickly do a reply on the keyboard.

    4. The charging cable is still 'loose', so I can still leave it plugged in even if I take it off the dock to answer a call, etc.

    I didn't bother putting a magnet in cos DockRunner is easy enough to activate. Maybe one day I'll paint it black or something though.

    Hope it helps anyone wanting to make one too!
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2009
  2. stuhasdroid

    stuhasdroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Really easy and convenient

    Yep, this is just so easy and convenient.

    I read on the market for downloading Dockrunner someone warned that 2.1 presents a problem. This is why I don't want to run pre-GA code on my Droid.

    So many are reporting Dockrunner works as designed with 2.01so I went ahead and downloaded and find it works as designed.

    Lego's and Dockrunner satisfy my needs.


    Peace,
     
  3. Oohyeah

    Oohyeah Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, not to mention no-cost, and something you can get in just a few minutes without having to wait for something to be shipped to you!

    What are the problems with Dockrunner on 2.1?
     
  4. MInkyboi

    MInkyboi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    you could also hot glue a magnet to the legos so that you dont even need dockrunner
     
  5. Oohyeah

    Oohyeah Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I could, but actually I'm finding that I'm not using Dockrunner that often. Most of the time, when plugged in and put on the dock, I would prefer not running dockrunner so that everything can be accessed more quickly. It gets put into landscape automatically anyway with the slider keyboard out.
     
  6. Pdigg

    Pdigg Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Droidville
    Ratings:
    +0
    For some reason, out of no where, my droid is now going to landscape mode on the home screen with the keyboard in also. Not complaining since this is what I wanted it to do since day one.

    Was wondering if anyone else was experiencing the same?

    Edit: Oh, and awesome doc man.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2010
  7. Oohyeah

    Oohyeah Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you just install a Home app like Home++?

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/te...ndscape-desktop-without-opening-keyboard.html
     
  8. Pdigg

    Pdigg Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Droidville
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been running home++ for about 4 weeks now. I wonder what I changed to make it start rotating last night for the first time.

    Thanks for clearing that up for me though!
     
  9. coondogg97

    coondogg97 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. Edmvr6

    Edmvr6 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hahaha... nice very creative
     
  11. cuskit

    cuskit Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hanging Out at the Jersey Shore
    Ratings:
    +0
    LMAO!!

    :icon_ laughup:

    cuskit
     
  12. Oohyeah

    Oohyeah Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Funny you should say that, cos as it just so happens...

    [​IMG]


    And that ain't no ordinary lego flash memory either.

    LOOK CLOSELY:

    [​IMG]

    :p:p:p
     
  13. trainryche

    trainryche New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Southern California
    Ratings:
    +0
    reply to landscape only

    Sorry don't yet know how to cut & paste on this thing. The answer to the previous question about always being in lanscape even when closed is in settings there is a toggle for landscape only.
     
  14. coondogg97

    coondogg97 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    Ratings:
    +0
    HAHAHAHAHAHA... Well played :)
     
  15. naman919

    naman919 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whoa. is that a prototype? Why is there a cutout on your top bezel where the mic area is? How can you plug a usb drive into that?!

    Am i crazy? :icon_eek:
     
Search tags for this page

lego multimedia dock