1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

My LEGO Multimedia Dock (pics)

Discussion in 'Android Accessories' started by Oohyeah, Dec 30, 2009.

  1. Oohyeah
    Offline

    Oohyeah New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought I would share pics of the multimedia dock I made from lego this morning, after being inspired to do so from this thread:

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-hacks/2425-how-diy-media-car-dock-2.html#post33211

    I had some spare time this morning so I dug out my daughter's Lego bricks to try to make one. Most of hers were the big type (Duplo) so they weren't any good for this, but found a small stack of cheap non-lego bricks. With just the limited bricks I had, I managed to create this after about 10 minutes:

    (btw, sorry for all the crap in the background!)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    And this is how it looks with the Droid (actually a Milestone) on it, running DockRunner!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The great thing about these docks are:

    1. It can accommodate the charging cable

    2. It can accommodate protective covers, like the Seidio I'm using.

    3. You can leave the keyboard open (I love the keyboard, btw. When a text message comes in, I can quickly do a reply on the keyboard.

    4. The charging cable is still 'loose', so I can still leave it plugged in even if I take it off the dock to answer a call, etc.

    I didn't bother putting a magnet in cos DockRunner is easy enough to activate. Maybe one day I'll paint it black or something though.

    Hope it helps anyone wanting to make one too!
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2009
  2. stuhasdroid
    Offline

    stuhasdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Really easy and convenient

    Yep, this is just so easy and convenient.

    I read on the market for downloading Dockrunner someone warned that 2.1 presents a problem. This is why I don't want to run pre-GA code on my Droid.

    So many are reporting Dockrunner works as designed with 2.01so I went ahead and downloaded and find it works as designed.

    Lego's and Dockrunner satisfy my needs.


    Peace,
  3. Oohyeah
    Offline

    Oohyeah New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, not to mention no-cost, and something you can get in just a few minutes without having to wait for something to be shipped to you!

    What are the problems with Dockrunner on 2.1?
  4. MInkyboi
    Offline

    MInkyboi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you could also hot glue a magnet to the legos so that you dont even need dockrunner
  5. Oohyeah
    Offline

    Oohyeah New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I could, but actually I'm finding that I'm not using Dockrunner that often. Most of the time, when plugged in and put on the dock, I would prefer not running dockrunner so that everything can be accessed more quickly. It gets put into landscape automatically anyway with the slider keyboard out.
  6. Pdigg
    Offline

    Pdigg New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Droidville
    For some reason, out of no where, my droid is now going to landscape mode on the home screen with the keyboard in also. Not complaining since this is what I wanted it to do since day one.

    Was wondering if anyone else was experiencing the same?

    Edit: Oh, and awesome doc man.
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2010
  7. Oohyeah
    Offline

    Oohyeah New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you just install a Home app like Home++?

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/te...ndscape-desktop-without-opening-keyboard.html
  8. Pdigg
    Offline

    Pdigg New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Droidville
    I've been running home++ for about 4 weeks now. I wonder what I changed to make it start rotating last night for the first time.

    Thanks for clearing that up for me though!
  9. coondogg97
    Offline

    coondogg97 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
  10. Edmvr6
    Offline

    Edmvr6 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Hahaha... nice very creative
  11. cuskit
    Offline

    cuskit New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hanging Out at the Jersey Shore
    LMAO!!

    :icon_ laughup:

    cuskit
  12. Oohyeah
    Offline

    Oohyeah New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Funny you should say that, cos as it just so happens...

    [​IMG]


    And that ain't no ordinary lego flash memory either.

    LOOK CLOSELY:

    [​IMG]

    :p:p:p
  13. trainryche
    Offline

    trainryche New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    reply to landscape only

    Sorry don't yet know how to cut & paste on this thing. The answer to the previous question about always being in lanscape even when closed is in settings there is a toggle for landscape only.
  14. coondogg97
    Offline

    coondogg97 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    HAHAHAHAHAHA... Well played :)
  15. naman919
    Offline

    naman919 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Whoa. is that a prototype? Why is there a cutout on your top bezel where the mic area is? How can you plug a usb drive into that?!

    Am i crazy? :icon_eek:
  16. Oohyeah
    Offline

    Oohyeah New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :biggrin:

    I've just got a Seidio case on:

    Innocase Surface, Ash Grey

    :D

    And no, the flash drive cannot be plugged in, unfortunately!

    If you were referring to the 'google' wording, the flash drive was a gift from them - what you get after spending a lot of money with them! :icon_eek:
Search tags for this page

lego multimedia dock