My Inc2 Won't update

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible 2' started by wozman24, Jul 14, 2011.

  1. wozman24
    Offline

    wozman24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I go to Software Update, ut shows Status and Check new. If I hit Status, , all fields are blank except for the top one, which says Verizon Wireless. When I hit "Check New" it says "Checking for new software updates" and then it disappears after a second or two. Can anyone help me out? I just got this phone 3 weeks ago, so I'm not sure if I'm doing this wrong. Thanks.
  2. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    The status screen is normal since you haven't gotten the update yet. All the info will fill in once the update is complete. As for getting the update, I would keep hitting the check new a couple times a day. Make sure your phone is charged or you have a charger handy. Update will take about ten minutes. If you don't get it in a few more days I would call Verizon to see what's happening. Good luck!

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
  3. kingsway8605
    Offline

    kingsway8605 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The status is normal behavior, but the check for update us not normal behavior. If the update was not available to you yet it tells you "no update available". Not only that, everyone should have received the ota by now. I would try a factory reset. If that doesn't work take it to the Verizon store (not Verizon reseller) for help. Regardless of where you bought it, it is still under warranty through them until at least April 2012.

    Fyi, if you rooted and installed a custom recovery, that breaks the ota.

    Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2011
  4. shanejo
    Offline

    shanejo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am expierencing the same thing. I figured I would wait atleat a week before I press the panic button. I just keep hitting the "Check new" selection s few times a day.
    I do notice when I "Check new", the phone switches to 3G for a second and then nothing
    Now I am using this phone via carrier PagePlus. I am wondering if that is my issue? Any help is appreciated.

    Thanks
  5. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    That would be your issue. The updates are put out by the carrier. You should contact them to see if and when you're going to get it.

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
  6. nikecar
    Offline

    nikecar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think that is it.

    The HTC isn't putting this update out for all the DIn2's, rather its VERIZON that is putting it out for its members. If you are PagePlus, then you need to ask them when they will put it out on their systems.

    Alternative is try to put this phone on Verizon prepaid, but not sure that can be done.
  7. wozman24
    Offline

    wozman24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am with Verizon, so that shouldn't be the problem. Looks like I should call Verizon. Joy.
  8. nikecar
    Offline

    nikecar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, I thought you were the op too

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
Search tags for this page
android incredible 2 software version empty
,
droid incredible 2 wont show software update
,
droid incredible wont check for updates
,
htc incredible 2 not showing new software update
,

htc incredible 2 wont update

,
incredible 2 software update status empty
,
incredible 2 update status blank
,
my htc droid incredible 2 want update
,
my htc incredible 2 wont update
,
sofrware update status of droid incredible 2
,
why wont my htc droid incredible 2 find the software update
,
why wont my htc incredible 2 update