1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

My GS3 Won't Let Me Check For Updates

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by vett96mik, Sep 29, 2012.

  1. vett96mik
    Offline

    vett96mik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Recently, when I've checked for an update on my phone it gives me a notice saying something to the tune of "you need service to check for an update". It gives me this when I'm connected to WiFi of 4G/3G. What should I do about this? I have attached a picture as an example of what actually happens.

    Thanks
  2. DRX1983
    Offline

    DRX1983 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    I'm in the same boat, did some googling on this issue but unfortunately I have yet to solve the problem.
  3. ccolston
    Offline

    ccolston New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same problem as well.
  4. internetavenger
    Offline

    internetavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah same here....not cool
  5. ccolston
    Offline

    ccolston New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I checked other forums and found that you can try this: Settings > Application Manager > Google Service Framework > Force Stop/Clear Data/Enable.
    It worked for me!
  6. internetavenger
    Offline

    internetavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    tried that twice...still wont work
  7. DRX1983
    Offline

    DRX1983 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Didn't work for me as well.
  8. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Well I had this exact same problem on both my Bionic and X2. I tried EVERYTHING. Even stuff I didn't think would work.


    Only thing to do is a FDR. I can almost guarantee that'll fix it. Sad, but true.
  9. vett96mik
    Offline

    vett96mik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What do I do if I want to FDR?
  10. vett96mik
    Offline

    vett96mik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do you FDR and what should I save/do before I FDR?
  11. internetavenger
    Offline

    internetavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    FDR does NOT fix this! I tried
  12. vett96mik
    Offline

    vett96mik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I have no idea what to do about this.
  13. internetavenger
    Offline

    internetavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No updates or jelly bean for us
  14. vett96mik
    Offline

    vett96mik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would really like to fix this problem, anymore suggestions?
  15. internetavenger
    Offline

    internetavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Trust me i do to, has anyone try contacting verizon or samsung? Do we return or phones for new ones?
  16. vett96mik
    Offline

    vett96mik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have no idea and haven't checked, you'd hope there would be a patch but it's not like we could download it anyways
  17. internetavenger
    Offline

    internetavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I downloaded the samsung desktop update software but have not connected my phone to it yet...its worth a try

    Can download it here

    http://m.samsung.com/us/kies/
  18. vett96mik
    Offline

    vett96mik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I actually used Kies a few days ago after this problem began, but I couldn't find anywhere in the application on my computer to update my phone. I must have missed something. If you find out how please let me know.
  19. garyrh
    Offline

    garyrh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA.
    My wife has the problem on her phone but I don't. There are many people with this problem on other forums.
  20. Nyteravyn
    Offline

    Nyteravyn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MidWest
    Have you tried a factory reset yet?
Search tags for this page
check for updates gs3
,
galaxy s3 software update service unavailable
,
galaxy s3 won't check for updates
,
galaxy s3 won't update
,

galaxy s3 wont check for updates

,

galaxy s3 wont update

,
galaxy s3 wont update software
,
how do i update my gs3
,

my galaxy s3 wont update

,
my s3 wont check for updates
,
samsung galaxy s3 software update service unavailable
,

samsung galaxy s3 wont check for updates

,
verizon galaxy s3 software update service unavailable
,
vz s3 update
,
why won't my galaxy s3 update