My Gallery - 756MB in TWO DAYS???

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by altjx, Jul 15, 2012.

  1. altjx

    altjx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    This morning I've noticed my data usage widget shows almost 1 GB more than it showed yesterday, and this freaked me out as I haven't done anything differently that I can recall that would affect my data usage.

    View attachment 52984

    Can someone please explain to me what the hell this is all about? I don't have that crappy Motocast stuff, so why in the world would a gallery app use almost 1 gig of data in 2 days?? The hell????????
     
  2. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,105
    Likes Received:
    651
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +723
    Current Phone Model:
    S7 Edge
    While I don't know that it's the cause for that large amount of usage, the My Gallery automatically syncs with several social networking sites if you have them set up on your phone. Do you have the settings turned off for that? My Gallery -> Menu -> deselect Display friends' activities. Also, check the MotoCast settings there as well. Something might be on that you're not aware of.
     
  3. MattyP

    MattyP Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Ratings:
    +210
    :icon_eek: As for what it's doing I don't know, I would check the settings of the app and see what it is set to sync, or upload and download.

    I would also consider downloading "Quickpic" from the Market. It's free, and much better than My Gallery. Then I would disable My Gallery, especially if it's chewing up that much data. That's crazy. :)
     
  4. MattyP

    MattyP Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Ratings:
    +210
    You beat me to it LOL :p
     
  5. altjx

    altjx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    It appears that the "Display friends' activity" box was checked off. But how in the world would that cause 756MB of data all of a sudden if that option has been checked? That's also confusing too. Thanks for alerting me of this. MotoCast isn't set up, as it brings me to the "Maybe later" and "Setup now" boxes.

    EDIT: Even with the display friends' activity box being checked (in the past/prior to me unchecking it now), the Friends section of it shows no one... Lol. It's telling me to add a social network (my gallery)...

    Hmm, all of the media sharing optoins are disabled. The quick upload account is set to "None". This is such a strange issue for me.
     
  6. MattyP

    MattyP Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Ratings:
    +210
    It's just a suggestion, but Quickpic works just like My Gallery, it even lets you exclude folders from viewing, etc. If My Gallery is burning that much data I would disable that puppy ... do you have a limited data plan or are you unlimited?
     
  7. MattyP

    MattyP Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Ratings:
    +210
    Displaying friends activity? On something like Facebook, that means EVERY time your friends do something on Facebook it syncs up to it ... every picture, status change, wall post, etc. :icon_eek:
     
  8. altjx

    altjx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm using the 4GB plan, and at 2.6GB until the 22nd, thankfully. According to the data thing again, it shows that even TODAY the app have used about 256 MB... That's very scary man.

    Yeah I know, but when I go to settings > friends, it shows no activity as if nothing was downloaded. That's another thing that's weird. And in the foreground? Doesn't that mean I had to have the app open to do that? I usually keep my recent app list clear as possible.
     
  9. MattyP

    MattyP Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Ratings:
    +210
    It's a VERIZON app ... lord only knows what it's doing, whether it's on or off.

    So in a few days you will have burned up all your data (and probably go over) because of that one app ... that sucker would be gone if it was me LOL :)
     
  10. FoxKat

    FoxKat Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,067
    Likes Received:
    4,318
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +4,808
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Note, if you alert Verizon to the problem now and they record it in the system notes for your account, then if you go over they will not charge you.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  11. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,105
    Likes Received:
    651
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +723
    Current Phone Model:
    S7 Edge
    The recent apps list isn't a task manager. That's a common misconception. Clearing apps from the list does not close them. If an app didn't shut down when you exited it, it will continue to run even if you remove it from the recent apps list. The recent apps list is exactly that - a list of apps you've used recently. Nothing more.

    I second this suggestion. I prefer QuickPic as well. After you install it, you can disable the My Gallery app and not worry about it at all. If you're not using any of the MotoCast options for it, you won't be losing anything by switching to QuickPic and disabling My Gallery.
     
    #11 bsweetness, Jul 15, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2012
  12. MattyP

    MattyP Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Ratings:
    +210
    I KNEW I had read something about the recent apps list didn't kill the apps when swiped ... that was being discussed in a thread just last night. I was talking about it with "94lt1"

    :hail:
     
Search tags for this page
gallery using data
,
gallery using data android
,
my gallery foreground data
,
razr maxx my gallery using data
,
why does gallery use data
,
why does gallery use so much data
,

why does my gallery use so much data

,
why is gallery using data
,
why is my gallery using data
,

why is my gallery using so much data