1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

My Gallery - 756MB in TWO DAYS???

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by altjx, Jul 15, 2012.

  1. altjx
    Offline

    altjx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This morning I've noticed my data usage widget shows almost 1 GB more than it showed yesterday, and this freaked me out as I haven't done anything differently that I can recall that would affect my data usage.

    View attachment 52984

    Can someone please explain to me what the hell this is all about? I don't have that crappy Motocast stuff, so why in the world would a gallery app use almost 1 gig of data in 2 days?? The hell????????
  2. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    48
    While I don't know that it's the cause for that large amount of usage, the My Gallery automatically syncs with several social networking sites if you have them set up on your phone. Do you have the settings turned off for that? My Gallery -> Menu -> deselect Display friends' activities. Also, check the MotoCast settings there as well. Something might be on that you're not aware of.
  3. MattyP
    Offline

    MattyP Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,267
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a race car...
    :icon_eek: As for what it's doing I don't know, I would check the settings of the app and see what it is set to sync, or upload and download.

    I would also consider downloading "Quickpic" from the Market. It's free, and much better than My Gallery. Then I would disable My Gallery, especially if it's chewing up that much data. That's crazy. :)
  4. MattyP
    Offline

    MattyP Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,267
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a race car...
    You beat me to it LOL :p
  5. altjx
    Offline

    altjx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It appears that the "Display friends' activity" box was checked off. But how in the world would that cause 756MB of data all of a sudden if that option has been checked? That's also confusing too. Thanks for alerting me of this. MotoCast isn't set up, as it brings me to the "Maybe later" and "Setup now" boxes.

    EDIT: Even with the display friends' activity box being checked (in the past/prior to me unchecking it now), the Friends section of it shows no one... Lol. It's telling me to add a social network (my gallery)...

    Hmm, all of the media sharing optoins are disabled. The quick upload account is set to "None". This is such a strange issue for me.
  6. MattyP
    Offline

    MattyP Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,267
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a race car...
    It's just a suggestion, but Quickpic works just like My Gallery, it even lets you exclude folders from viewing, etc. If My Gallery is burning that much data I would disable that puppy ... do you have a limited data plan or are you unlimited?
  7. MattyP
    Offline

    MattyP Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,267
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Displaying friends activity? On something like Facebook, that means EVERY time your friends do something on Facebook it syncs up to it ... every picture, status change, wall post, etc. :icon_eek:
  8. altjx
    Offline

    altjx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using the 4GB plan, and at 2.6GB until the 22nd, thankfully. According to the data thing again, it shows that even TODAY the app have used about 256 MB... That's very scary man.

    Yeah I know, but when I go to settings > friends, it shows no activity as if nothing was downloaded. That's another thing that's weird. And in the foreground? Doesn't that mean I had to have the app open to do that? I usually keep my recent app list clear as possible.
  9. MattyP
    Offline

    MattyP Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,267
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a race car...
    It's a VERIZON app ... lord only knows what it's doing, whether it's on or off.

    So in a few days you will have burned up all your data (and probably go over) because of that one app ... that sucker would be gone if it was me LOL :)
  10. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,590
    Likes Received:
    816
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Note, if you alert Verizon to the problem now and they record it in the system notes for your account, then if you go over they will not charge you.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  11. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    48
    The recent apps list isn't a task manager. That's a common misconception. Clearing apps from the list does not close them. If an app didn't shut down when you exited it, it will continue to run even if you remove it from the recent apps list. The recent apps list is exactly that - a list of apps you've used recently. Nothing more.

    I second this suggestion. I prefer QuickPic as well. After you install it, you can disable the My Gallery app and not worry about it at all. If you're not using any of the MotoCast options for it, you won't be losing anything by switching to QuickPic and disabling My Gallery.
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2012
  12. MattyP
    Offline

    MattyP Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,267
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a race car...
    I KNEW I had read something about the recent apps list didn't kill the apps when swiped ... that was being discussed in a thread just last night. I was talking about it with "94lt1"

    :hail:
  13. altjx
    Offline

    altjx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lol. I'm going to keep an eye on this for awhile. Not sure what the cause was, especially since nothing has changed in this app since I've went to ICS. Do you know how often the data settings are updated, or if the results are displayed in real time

    Thanks, I will make sure I do this. I am also going to monitor the data settings to see if the app uses anything more than it has already. As far as I'm concerned, this app shouldn't even need access to the Internet, as all my pictures are coming across the USB cable. Is there any way to completely disable this app from using mobile data at all?
  14. MattyP
    Offline

    MattyP Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,267
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a race car...
    The main thing you need to remember is that in the phone's data usage settings it says "Data measured by your phone. Your carrier's data usage accounting may differ"

    Your bill is going to be displayed in real time if you go over your data limit. FoxKat's words should be taken seriously, call Big Red or go to a Verizon Store and let them know so you don't get burned. Otherwise they will say "you should have told us when you found out about it, sorry, pay up" :)
  15. altjx
    Offline

    altjx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will do... Thanks guys.
  16. Caesars
    Offline

    Caesars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Doesn't motocast operate through that (gallery)? Maybe it backed up all your photos.

    Googorola MAXX
  17. altjx
    Offline

    altjx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not sure but Motocast isn't enabled.
  18. YellowJacket
    Offline

    YellowJacket Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Just to be safe, I would check the option to upload only via wifi and additionally, the option to upload only when plugged in. Should save on both battery and data.

    David
  19. duncan0553
    Offline

    duncan0553 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North East Texas
    Just a quick question, I looked up Quickpic and there are two on the play store. Which one do ya'll use, the one by alensw.com or the one by josh beck? Also if I am using Gallery now and switch over to Quickpic do I need to transfer all my pics and videos over?
  20. mysticalmalissa
    Offline

    mysticalmalissa New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Top of the Rock, TN (Sequatchie)
    I use the one by alensw.com
Search tags for this page
android gallery using data
,
droid razr maxx gallery using data
,
gallery foreground disable
,
gallery using data
,
gallery using data android
,
my gallery foreground data
,
razr hd gallery data use
,
razr max gallery using data
,
razr maxx my gallery using data
,
why does gallery use data
,
why does gallery use so much data
,

why does my gallery use so much data

,
why is gallery using data
,
why is my gallery using data
,

why is my gallery using so much data