My friend is having trouble installing SPRecovery.

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by rednukleus, Feb 14, 2010.

1. rednukleus

rednukleus Member

Ratings:
    +1
    He tried to install SPRecovery but something went wrong. Here is his message:

" I wanted to root and install the 2.1 Sholes mod yesterday, and am a complete noob. I heard from people that Sholes automatically backed up the Droid, but I wanted to be sure, so I followed a guide on rootyourdroid.info to install a custom recovery image before working with Sholes. The guide had me use "update.zip" to root, which seemed to go fine, then my command prompt to push two files: "flash_image" and "recovery-0.99.2b.img" onto my Droid. Now, things are a bit different. My recovery screen has fewer options, and I tried to use SetCPU and it said I don't have root access. I also tried to run the Sholes SMUpdater.apk and it ran into an error and couldn't continue. If I reboot in recovery mode now, my screen says "E:Can't open /cache/recovery/command" and the only options I have are "reboot system now", "apply sdcard:update.zip", "wipe data/factory reset", and "wipe cache partition". If I remember correctly, right after I rooted I had more options than this (I know I had one that gave me the option to install a custom ROM), but after I pushed flash_image and recovery-0.99.2b.img I was only left with this screen.
    If I absolutely have to, I'm okay with doing a factory reset and losing all my data, but I don't even know if that would make a difference since it seems like I replaced my factory recovery files by pushing those files onto my droid thorugh the cmd prompt.
    Any help is very much appreciated! "

2. Bear in NM

Bear in NM Active Member

Ratings:
    +1
    Red,

I am not familiar with the particular steps your friend did, but it sounds like the old "recovery-from-boot.p" file renaming problem/step.