1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

My first ROM...

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by cadre.9, Feb 1, 2012.

  1. cadre.9
    Offline

    cadre.9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi. I have my DX rooted, I have a Nandroid and Titanium Pro backup. I also have the Droid2 Bootstrap so I feel like I'm ready to try a ROM. I've read that Liberty is a good one for a novice to try so I downloaded Liberty3X-2.0Gold.zip. I have a few questions, though:

    I read one place that I should copy the file to my SD card without unzipping it. Is that right?

    One source said I should use the "Import/Export" option under Contacts and export my contacts to my SD card. I thought I could restore all that data using Titanium Backup. Not so?

    I only have a little more than 1gb of space left on my SD card. Should I clear more before starting?

    Also, how can I be certain this ROM will work with my phone (version 4.5.605)?

    I'd appreciate any advice.
  2. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes leave it zipped. I always download a rom straight to my phone using dolphin hd browser its free in the market. The rom zip will end up on your sd card in the download folder. The stock browser doesn't work very well sometimes when downloading things but dolphin always works great. The best thing to do for your contacts is to back them up to your google account. Just go in settings then accounts and press your gmail account and make sure everything is synced. Once your on a rom you'll have to sign into your google account and your contacts will automatically restore. You can also do the import/export thing you mentioned but i would definitely sync them with google. You said you have a small amount of space left on your sd card so its not a bad idea to clean some stuff out.
    EDIT... And that liberty rom you have will work just fine for your system version.
    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  3. cadre.9
    Offline

    cadre.9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thank you very much, Savagerun. I plan on taking the leap tomorrow.
  4. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,933
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Good luck on installing Liberty!! Just follow the steps closely and you will be fine :biggrin:
    1 person likes this.
  5. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not a problem. If you need instructions on installing liberty just let us know otherwise good luck, Liberty 3 is excellent great choice.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
    1 person likes this.
  6. debrad0307
    Offline

    debrad0307 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Glad to see that people are still supporting liberty!

    tappin and talkin on my BIONIC
  7. cadre.9
    Offline

    cadre.9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I now have Liberty installed. I thank you all very much for all the help you've given me.

    I'm gradually learning my way around the ROM and I have a lot of questions:

    When I logged into the Market all my apps began downloading. I didn't really need all of them right now and I can't find a way to stop it. Is there a way to prevent that from happening if I do another ROM?

    Speaking of the Market, it's a huge icon on my home screen; is there any way to re-size icons?

    Under Launcher Options it mentions "Hotseats". I Googled that but I can't find a relevant definition.

    I only have five screens. How can I expand to seven?

    Thanks again for your guidance and patience.

    cadre
  8. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The market downloading your apps i usually go straight to the market after i sign into my google account and press the menu button and select my apps then you'll see a stop download button so just press that. The big market icon just long press it and drag it to the trash bin at the bottom of the screen if you don't want it. The hot seat is your icons at the bottom of the screen on your homepage. There's only two icons now the browser icon and the phone icon but if you select 4 hotseats you'll be able to add two more icons down there. I would try different launchers besides the one that comes with liberty because it doesn't have much as far as being able to customize things. I use adw ex but its not free. They do have a free version but it doesn't give you as many options to customize. You can try golauncher or launcherpro also.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  9. cadre.9
    Offline

    cadre.9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks, Savagerun, for the launcher tip. I installed Go Launcher and that solved most of my problems.

    One other thing- I lost my Sticky Notes widget. I looked in Titanium Backup and that appears to be the only thing that wasn't backed up. I guess my notes are lost. :( Anyhow, I looked in the Market for a replacement but there are so many. Any idea how can I find the one that came with the phone?
  10. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go in settings > liberty settings > customization > liberty customizer> then press addons and you should see sticky notes

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
    1 person likes this.
  11. cadre.9
    Offline

    cadre.9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    When I grow up I want to be just like you :biggrin:

    Thanks again.
    1 person likes this.
  12. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Haha... No you don't.
    Your welcome.
    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  13. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,933
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Now that's funny lol.

    Nothing against you savage, just the comment itself is funny :D
  14. lowvolt
    Offline

    lowvolt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How is the liberty3 rom? I have been running vortex for awhile. Thinking about a change.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  15. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,933
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    I had good luck with it when I ran it. That was a while ago but I also don't think there have been any updates since then.
  16. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I ran vortex myself for quite a while but tried out all the other roms also but always returned to vortex. Then liberty3 came out and I've never gone back to vortex since. Like jsm said there hasn't been updates on it but it really doesn't need any imo. Seems like none of these roms are getting updated anymore because of all the new phones that came out. The only rom getting updated is miui but i never cared much for it so i don't bother with it. I think with miui either you love it or hate it. Anyway go ahead and try liberty just make a nandroid backup of vortex and if you decide liberty is not for you just restore your vortex backup.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  17. lowvolt
    Offline

    lowvolt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So can I flash liberty 3 from vortex or do I need to go to something else first?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  18. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes you can. Just do all the normal wipes... Data, cache partition and davlik then flash

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  19. lowvolt
    Offline

    lowvolt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you!!

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  20. lowvolt
    Offline

    lowvolt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay next question. Does anyone have a valid link to it?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
Search tags for this page
droid x2 liberty-vortex roms download
,

myfirstrom download