My Droid is set to 1x instead of 3G

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by mitchb2, Feb 22, 2010.

  1. mitchb2
    Offline

    mitchb2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone know why this is?
    I have a phone interview in a couple of hours and this is my only phone.

    I didn't need another thing to be nervous about!

    This is the first time I've ever seen this. It's always been 3G.
  2. taypotts
    Offline

    taypotts New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    With 1x you will be able to get your phone call just fine. 1x is for voice and 3G is for Data. Dial *288 option 1 to update your PRL see if that helps.
  3. Erron
    Offline

    Erron Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine did this Sat night. I restarted and it was fine.

    Did you try calling vzon to see if they are having network issues near you?
  4. mitchb2
    Offline

    mitchb2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks! I obviously don't know the difference between the two. I saw a comment that said 1x is nearly unusable and that freaked me out.

    A reboot took care of it. I'm a bundle of nerves until I get through this interview.
  5. specmac
    Offline

    specmac Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually to update your PRL's, that should be *228 and option 2.
  6. loop4zil
    Offline

    loop4zil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta

    Good Luck...with the phone interview.

    I fixed this with a battery pull
  7. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Well, a battery pull didn't work for me, nor did dialing *228. I had to call Verizon and have a ticket written up on it. About 4 days after that it was fixed.

    Just letting the OP know if none of the other options don't work.
  8. STIDRIVER
    Offline

    STIDRIVER New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm could be wrong... but I always thought when the phone switches to 1x it meant that 3G wasn't available where you where(or at least is really weak at the time). I've never pulled the battery or rebooted and it allways seems to work itself out when I get to an area with stronger coverage.
  9. lauriep
    Offline

    lauriep New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1X has nothing to do with voice. It means your 3G signal isn't strong. Mine varies all the tome, even when I am sitting still.
  10. tattoo12
    Offline

    tattoo12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am new to the droid and the droid forum and have a question if you don't mind. I am experiencing some issues with my 3G as well. Sometime's it says 3G sometimes it says 1x when it says 1x I can't play videos on youtube it will freeze on me. So I called verizon and the guy said it might be a defective antenna and said they would send me another droid 2 global. I am curious after reading the post what I should do keep my current droid2 or just keep the new one they send ?
  11. Liderc
    Offline

    Liderc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,265
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There are obvious variables with each of these problems. One could be, your area doesn't have great 3g, highly possible. The other could be a faulty device, very possible. You could also just need to do a phone reset, just like computers do sometimes; remember a good reset can fix a load of problems with our phone which is essentially a mini pc. There could also be a problem with the network, Verizon is either working on the cell location or it's just having problems, call if you must or wait it out.
  12. mitchb2
    Offline

    mitchb2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My problem ended up being that my Droid is just a piece of crap. It's broken in many ways. When I lose 3G I have to power the phone down/up to get it back.

    I'm just waiting for the announcements on the next wave of phones coming out so that I can replace the Droid.
  13. Liderc
    Offline

    Liderc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,265
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same problem, I didn't know at the time it was my 3G dying out on me, but my internet would stop working. The only way to get it back was to power the phone off and on and it would work for a little while.

    I sent off for a replacement and it never happened again.
  14. windstrings
    Offline

    windstrings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central Texas
    the HTC thunderbolt looks interesting......

    I"ve lost my 3g before too.. usually simply hitting the off button to turn off the display and then hitting it again to bring it back up is enough to re-energize the 3g.

    I seemed to have the problem more when I had my vocodec set to EVRC-B on all three counts.... now I left the roaming part set to default EVRC and only the first two changed to EVRC-B and that pretty much fixed my problem.

    My suspicion is that some roaming cell towers don't negotiate the EVRC-B well and so drops the 3G.
    I don't really know what i"m talking about as I don't understand how the 3g reacts or interacts with the EVRC-B vocodec, but its just an observation.
  15. Liderc
    Offline

    Liderc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,265
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I remembered, you can also fix this problem without turning your phone off. Simply hit the power button, hit airplane mode on, then airplane mode off and your 3g should come back.

    This is a temporary fix until you get a new phone obviously.
Search tags for this page

1x instead of 3g

,
my phone says 1x instead of 3g
,
phone says 1x
,
phone says 1x instead of 3g
,
phone shows 1x instead of 3g
,
why 1x instead of 3g
,
why am i getting 1x instead of 3g
,
why do i get 1x instead of 3g
,
why do i have 1x instead of 3g
,
why does my phone have 1x instead of 3g
,
why does my phone say 1x
,
why does my phone say 1x instead of 3g
,
why does my phone say 1x instead of 3x
,
why does my phone show 1x
,
why does my phone shows 1x instead of 3g