My Droid is no longer rootable...wtf happened?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by doktabl4ck, Jul 9, 2010.

  1. doktabl4ck

    doktabl4ck Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have rooted my phone once and never got the superuser permissions the guide stated I would. I did a back up and got back to stock then tried to re-root my phone. The error I got and am still getting even after trying to root with 2.2 is: blah blah blah (substitute for whatever is here), No such file/directory exists, Install aborted. I am running stock 2.1 update 1 now. Does anybody have any ideas what happened or what the issue is and how I can fix it?
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
  3. doktabl4ck

    doktabl4ck Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will give this a try. The only other thing I've done is try and go back to 2.0.1 and re-root that way, but that failed as well. I will be sure to post a reply with the result tonight.
     
  4. doktabl4ck

    doktabl4ck Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I have gone through the steps of this guide and I still get the same error: (blah blah blah (substitute for whatever is here), No such file/directory exists, Install aborted.) I believe the only thing I would be able to do is use a different memory card or get a different phone correct?
     
  5. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +3
    Take your phone back to stock 2.1 update 1 then follow the link down in my signature to root the phone. Once you get root then you can go and apply any 2.2 Rom you wish. This maybe your only option. The instructions below have not failed me yet. Good luck and if you need help, pm me.
     
  6. angler1

    angler1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ma
    Ratings:
    +0
    What file are you using to root 2.1? As far as I know you need to use Rsd to flash sprecovery. Then you load a rooted rom. Then you will have your superuser permissions

    Edit. What recovery are you on?
     
  7. doktabl4ck

    doktabl4ck Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would love to follow another guide but my phone is already on stock 2.1 Any and every guide has failed, but after I went back to stock the first time I successfully rooted something must have went wrong. I will try to get another memory card because that's where I think the problem lies.
     
  8. doktabl4ck

    doktabl4ck Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    When trying to flash I use the SPRecovery_ESE81.sbf
     
  9. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    angler1 has the right question:

    What Recovery are you on? Stock, Sprecovery, or clockwork?

    What is your end goal? Is there a particular rom you want to get installed? (looks like the ese81.sbf file, Pete's rooted 2.1 rom.)
    The rooted Froyo rom is more recent and in the first link in my signature.

    I don't think the problem will be your card.

    If you already have SPRecovery installed you don't need to use RSD Lite to flash the froyo rom, you can just use SPRecovery.
     
  10. doktabl4ck

    doktabl4ck Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have tried both of those guides and I still get the same error, and regardless of what guide I've used I still get the same error. For some reason the memory card will not recognize that the SPRecovery file has been loaded onto it.
     
  11. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    The SPRecovery file does not get loaded onto the SDcard.

    Install RSD Lite onto your windows computer.

    Run RSD Lite from your computer and install the sprecovery.sbf file with RSD Lite after browsing for it on your computer.

    Once installed grab a rom and put that on your SDcard.


    Reboot into SPRecovery on your phone, backup your current config and then install the rom.
     
  12. angler1

    angler1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ma
    Ratings:
    +0
    I still don't think you have answered the question. What does the recovery screen way when you first hold down x then press power while still holding the x button
     
  13. doktabl4ck

    doktabl4ck Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was talking about the .sbf file. I just tried to flash again and it still gives me the same error regardless of what file I used.
     
  14. doktabl4ck

    doktabl4ck Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is the best part, when I hold down X and power on the device it goes straight to the back up screen, where you can wipe the cache/partition, and do a factory wipe/backup or reboot the phone. There's not triangle thingy anymore /!\
     
  15. angler1

    angler1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ma
    Ratings:
    +0
    It sounds like your still in stock recovery. You need to use christim sbf to root and unroot. Its in his sig. Have you ever used rsdlite? Read up.
     
Search tags for this page
com pv wmdrm
,
what is com.pv.wmdrm
,
what is wmdrm push receiver
,
what is wmdrm push receiver android
,

wmdrm push receiver

,
wmdrm push receiver android
,
wmdrm push reciever version1.0
,
wmdrm pushreceiver
,
wmdrmpushreceiver
,
wmdrmpushreciever