My Droid having several issues

CheyAut

Reaction score
I'm not that tech savvy with these phones, I don't know anything about rooting or the like, no clue what the gingerbread thing is I see posted on here... so bare with me!

This started happening Thursday. I have not installed anything new, and to my knowledge no recent updates (other than some apps update). I also don't have very many apps that I use or have downloaded. I will try to remember everything that's wrong...

Things will freeze and then tell me they aren't responding, I can force close or wait (waiting does nothing). So far it's been my facebook app, browser (whatever browser is normal on the phone, I have not downloaded any) and when typing an email reply from the messaging area on the phone.

The phone is VERY slow.

The virtual/touch keyboard (whatever that's called) does not come up anymore (I pretty much always use the slide out keyboard anyhow, but...)

No matter what the orientation of the phone, the very bottom part won't work. And by the orientation I mean if you turn it to horizontal, the part that doens' twork moves with the screen... so I know it's not an issue with the touch screen itself, does that make sense? So I can't use the buttons at the bottom of the screen (like my dialer button, I had to add a phone number to contacts in order to make a call yesterday). Sometimes I can't get into settings, either.

The phone gets HOT.

The battery charge doesn't last very long (was fine up to Thursday when these problems surfaced)

What I've tried: turning it off then on did nothing. A battery pull made it work for a few minutes, then same thing. My friend told me to dial *228 and option 2 (that's what I had to add to the contacts to call). Check for system updates, there wasn't one. Then she had me clear the cache from each app. Then remove the battery for a minute. It worked for a few minutes, then back to problems.