My droid bionic won't root

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by derikogreen, Aug 20, 2012.

  1. derikogreen
    Offline

    derikogreen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I need help rooting my Droid bionic 905 2.3.4, i have tried everything that i know of. here are the problems I have run into.


    PETE’S MOTOROLA ROOT TOOLSERROR: adb could not be granted root access via local.propmethod

    Try again from thestart, but if the problem continues, check your version
    of Gingerbread --hopefully you don't have a version where this exploit
    was fixed. (doesn’teven make it past the 3rd step)

    MOTOROLA ONECLICKROOT
    Congratulations your phone should be rooted. But it’s notrooted. I checked it with Root Check Basic and it said my device is not properlyrooted plus the super user app wasn’t installed.

    Motofail: Universal Android Root Expoit
    Adb server out of date killing… along with a long failedmessage stating remount failed; Operation not permitted, failed to copybusybox, failed to copy super user, etc.


  2. cindylike24
    Offline

    cindylike24 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Vincennes, IN
    Ok. It sounds like it may be rooted even though it doesn't say so when you check it with Root Check Basic. Here's something that you can try on your phone.
    1. Check and make sure that SuperUser is installed on your phone. It should be listed as one of the apps on your phone. If you don't see it, go to Google Play and search for SuperUser. Download the free version and install it on your phone.
    2. Once you have SuperUser on your phone, open the program on your phone. You'll see a screen come up showing all of the different updates to this program. Just select the OK button at the bottom of your screen.
    3. Exit the SuperUser program and go back into Root Check Basic and see if it tells you whether or not your phone is now rooted. It should say that your phone has now been rooted.

    I've used this procedure each time that I've had to root my phone and it has worked every time for me. Let me know how this goes for you.

    Cindy
  3. derikogreen
    Offline

    derikogreen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ROOT CHECK BASIC:Sorry! this device does not have proper root access. it's like Verizon put a special lock on my phone or something, but i have seen other bionic owners have no problem with rooting. Anymore suggestions?
  4. altspeed
    Offline

    altspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Lone Star Republic, North America, Terra
    You're using an incredibly random assortment of tools all of which don't work. Get motofail or motofail ics.
  5. altspeed
    Offline

    altspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Lone Star Republic, North America, Terra
    U2 can haz #r00t#
  6. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    I agree. Try MotoFail
  7. derikogreen
    Offline

    derikogreen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    heeeelp!!! lol I tried motofail and moto fail ics yet it still won't root. What could i possibly be doing wrong, this is what I used. The drivers and motofail

    Motorola_End_User_Driver_Installation_5.2.0_64bit.msi
    motofail_windows
  8. justin82
    Offline

    justin82 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,607
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    63
    do you have debugging mode checked ? and try a different usb port on computer
  9. altspeed
    Offline

    altspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Lone Star Republic, North America, Terra
    Yeah. Can you see communication between pc and phone? It sounds like busybox never getting on the phone to start with. Triple check your usb debugging and usb mode (charge only on GB). Check unknown sources in dev under apps.

    Aha moment. Did you unzip the motofail.zip into the directory you're running the run.bat from?
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2012
  10. derikogreen
    Offline

    derikogreen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Since I have been trying to root I have kept Unknown Sources and Debugging checked. As far as seeing communication between pc and phone i can access my storage and the usb mode charging pops up when i plug it in so i assume it's connected. I used to see a message saying drivers are connected but I noticed you don't see that message everytime and even when i did see the message it still wouldn't root. I have 4 usb ports on my laptop and the 2 on left aren't working at the moment which i'm going throught methods trying to fix them but i have tried the 2 on the right and it still doesn't root properly. I am a fairly computer savvy person so this is really becoming fustrating. I won't quit until I figure this out, gotta get my phone rooted. Please anymore suggestions.

    :lifting:
  11. justin82
    Offline

    justin82 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,607
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    63
    if you have latest drivers, good connection , usb debugging enabled you should be good to go.. you may if you have have any security locking (pin lock or gestures) take them off i dont think it will make a difference but you never know.. what OS are you running on computer?
  12. linuxgator
    Offline

    linuxgator New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Try going into the stock recovery and wiping the cache. Also, are you using a motorola branded cable? Sometimes you can have problems using other usb cables.
  13. jickracer007
    Offline

    jickracer007 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Google Bionic Roms and there will be a sub heading under XDA that has "Liquid ICS" this link has the step by step process on it with all the file links needed to achieve the results that you are looking for.
    I originally had the same issues.
    If you aren't trying to do the ICS, which I must say since I installed it with the "Liquid ROM" I have never been happier.
  14. derikogreen
    Offline

    derikogreen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try going into the stock recovery and wiping the cache. Also, are you using a motorola branded cable? Sometimes you can have problems using other usb cables.
    • I have the same usb cord that came with my phone but how do i go into stock recovery and wipe the cache
  15. derikogreen
    Offline

    derikogreen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    linuxgator Try going into the stock recovery and wiping the cache. Also, are you using a motorola branded cable? Sometimes you can have problems using other usb cables.

    I have the same usb cord that came with my phone but how do i go into stock recovery and wipe the cache
  16. derikogreen
    Offline

    derikogreen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    jickracer007 Google Bionic Roms and there will be a sub heading under XDA that has "Liquid ICS" this link has the step by step process on it with all the file links needed to achieve the results that you are looking for.
    I originally had the same issues.
    If you aren't trying to do the ICS, which I must say since I installed it with the "Liquid ROM" I have never been happier.

    Thanks I'll try that asap, that's basicly what I'm trying to do. i want the ICS leak but i want to be rooted also.
  17. derikogreen
    Offline

    derikogreen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have windows 7
  18. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH
    You able to get root yet?
  19. altspeed
    Offline

    altspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Lone Star Republic, North America, Terra
    I mean, If it's 905 and if motofail has access to your filesystem with the proper permissions (debug and unknown sources which are in effect passwordless SU privilege accounts, like "power" on an old SCO box or "nobody" on solaris 4 if you know your historic hacks and the CERT write ups of them) your phone has no choice but to root. Older drivers (like the 893 and 902 drivers) are obsolete, they changed not too long ago, about the time the ICS leaks starting dropping. Device manager 2.2.28 is the latest motorola package (32 bit), I updated Saturday morning because I was refreshing and updating all the phone tools on my PC. I'm thinking you need to uninstall that moto end user whatever it is you've got (name and version number don't look at all right for the device manager package?) and go see if you can search moto for Device Manager 2.2.28 64 bit You might Start Here.
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2012
  20. linuxgator
    Offline

    linuxgator New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    To get to stock recovery, power down the phone. Then hold both the volume up and volume down keys simultaneously while powering on the phone. A boot mode selection menu will appear, and you use the volume down key to highlight Recovery, then the volume up key to select it. After a few seconds, a triangle should show up, at which point, press both volume keys again, and it should take you to the recovery menu. From the recovery menu, you use the volume up and down arrows to scroll, and the power button to select. Scroll down to wipe cache partition, and select that. After that, scroll to reboot system now, and try rooting. If that doesn't work, you may want to try a factory data reset, which will delete all of your data so try that as a last resort.
Search tags for this page
bionic won't root help?
,

bionic wont root

,
droid bionic remount failed operation aborted
,

droid bionic won't root

,
how do i do the pound, star,pound star thing on my droid bio
,
how to use root check basic
,

motorola device manager 2.2.28 download

,
my bionic does not have proper root access
,
my phone wont root
,

rooting droid bionic

,
sorry this device does not have proper root access
,
sorry this device does not have proper root access droid bio
,
superuser won't let bionic root
,
why did root checker say my phone wont root?
,
why wont my motorola droid 3 root