My droid bionic won't root

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by derikogreen, Aug 20, 2012.

  1. derikogreen

    derikogreen Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I need help rooting my Droid bionic 905 2.3.4, i have tried everything that i know of. here are the problems I have run into.


    PETE’S MOTOROLA ROOT TOOLSERROR: adb could not be granted root access via local.propmethod

    Try again from thestart, but if the problem continues, check your version
    of Gingerbread --hopefully you don't have a version where this exploit
    was fixed. (doesn’teven make it past the 3rd step)

    MOTOROLA ONECLICKROOT
    Congratulations your phone should be rooted. But it’s notrooted. I checked it with Root Check Basic and it said my device is not properlyrooted plus the super user app wasn’t installed.

    Motofail: Universal Android Root Expoit
    Adb server out of date killing… along with a long failedmessage stating remount failed; Operation not permitted, failed to copybusybox, failed to copy super user, etc.


     
  2. cindylike24

    cindylike24 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Vincennes, IN
    Ratings:
    +2
    Ok. It sounds like it may be rooted even though it doesn't say so when you check it with Root Check Basic. Here's something that you can try on your phone.
    1. Check and make sure that SuperUser is installed on your phone. It should be listed as one of the apps on your phone. If you don't see it, go to Google Play and search for SuperUser. Download the free version and install it on your phone.
    2. Once you have SuperUser on your phone, open the program on your phone. You'll see a screen come up showing all of the different updates to this program. Just select the OK button at the bottom of your screen.
    3. Exit the SuperUser program and go back into Root Check Basic and see if it tells you whether or not your phone is now rooted. It should say that your phone has now been rooted.

    I've used this procedure each time that I've had to root my phone and it has worked every time for me. Let me know how this goes for you.

    Cindy
     
  3. derikogreen

    derikogreen Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ROOT CHECK BASIC:Sorry! this device does not have proper root access. it's like Verizon put a special lock on my phone or something, but i have seen other bionic owners have no problem with rooting. Anymore suggestions?
     
  4. altspeed

    altspeed Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Dallas, Lone Star Republic, North America, Terra
    Ratings:
    +17
    You're using an incredibly random assortment of tools all of which don't work. Get motofail or motofail ics.
     
  5. altspeed

    altspeed Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Dallas, Lone Star Republic, North America, Terra
    Ratings:
    +17
    U2 can haz #r00t#
     
  6. brad92

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    I agree. Try MotoFail
     
  7. derikogreen

    derikogreen Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    heeeelp!!! lol I tried motofail and moto fail ics yet it still won't root. What could i possibly be doing wrong, this is what I used. The drivers and motofail

    Motorola_End_User_Driver_Installation_5.2.0_64bit.msi
    motofail_windows
     
  8. justin82

    justin82 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,689
    Likes Received:
    213
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +214
    do you have debugging mode checked ? and try a different usb port on computer
     
  9. altspeed

    altspeed Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Dallas, Lone Star Republic, North America, Terra
    Ratings:
    +17
    Yeah. Can you see communication between pc and phone? It sounds like busybox never getting on the phone to start with. Triple check your usb debugging and usb mode (charge only on GB). Check unknown sources in dev under apps.

    Aha moment. Did you unzip the motofail.zip into the directory you're running the run.bat from?
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2012
  10. derikogreen

    derikogreen Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Since I have been trying to root I have kept Unknown Sources and Debugging checked. As far as seeing communication between pc and phone i can access my storage and the usb mode charging pops up when i plug it in so i assume it's connected. I used to see a message saying drivers are connected but I noticed you don't see that message everytime and even when i did see the message it still wouldn't root. I have 4 usb ports on my laptop and the 2 on left aren't working at the moment which i'm going throught methods trying to fix them but i have tried the 2 on the right and it still doesn't root properly. I am a fairly computer savvy person so this is really becoming fustrating. I won't quit until I figure this out, gotta get my phone rooted. Please anymore suggestions.

    :lifting:
     
  11. justin82

    justin82 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,689
    Likes Received:
    213
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +214
    if you have latest drivers, good connection , usb debugging enabled you should be good to go.. you may if you have have any security locking (pin lock or gestures) take them off i dont think it will make a difference but you never know.. what OS are you running on computer?
     
  12. linuxgator

    linuxgator Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try going into the stock recovery and wiping the cache. Also, are you using a motorola branded cable? Sometimes you can have problems using other usb cables.
     
  13. jickracer007

    jickracer007 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Google Bionic Roms and there will be a sub heading under XDA that has "Liquid ICS" this link has the step by step process on it with all the file links needed to achieve the results that you are looking for.
    I originally had the same issues.
    If you aren't trying to do the ICS, which I must say since I installed it with the "Liquid ROM" I have never been happier.
     
  14. derikogreen

    derikogreen Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try going into the stock recovery and wiping the cache. Also, are you using a motorola branded cable? Sometimes you can have problems using other usb cables.
    • I have the same usb cord that came with my phone but how do i go into stock recovery and wipe the cache
     
  15. derikogreen

    derikogreen Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    linuxgator Try going into the stock recovery and wiping the cache. Also, are you using a motorola branded cable? Sometimes you can have problems using other usb cables.

    I have the same usb cord that came with my phone but how do i go into stock recovery and wipe the cache
     
Search tags for this page
bionic won't root help?
,
bionic wont root
,
droid bionic remount failed operation aborted
,

droid bionic won't root

,
how to use root check basic
,

motorola device manager 2.2.28 download

,
my phone wont root
,

rooting droid bionic

,
why did root checker say my phone wont root?
,
why wont my motorola droid 3 root