1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

My D3 still has 3 home screens, tray goes up and down

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by hitdog042, Jul 15, 2011.

  1. hitdog042
    Offline

    hitdog042 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So the one in the store I demo'd had 5 home screens, and the tray went left to right.

    The one that was delivered today still has 3 home screens, and the tray goes up and down like the older droids.

    No s/w update avail when I try that. Says I am on 2.3.4 but it appears mine has the older blur on it?

    Anyone else have this issue? Also, the phone runs very hot and the camera still takes pretty bad pics.

    Very frustrating
  2. dancingcrab
    Offline

    dancingcrab New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Whiskey-Tango-Foxtrot?

    That is bizarre.
  3. Big D
    Offline

    Big D New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like you have Launcher Pro on there. Go to: system>>applications>>manage apps and look for Launcher Pro.

    If you uninstall that, you'll get the Motoblur interface.
  4. hitdog042
    Offline

    hitdog042 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I know right? I don't know if I should call the idiots at VZW and sit on the phone while some clueless person has no idea what I'm complaining about or just send it back and re-order another one.

    the camera on mine also sucks. The one in store took great pics... no clue what is going on there.. they are all very blurry, and these are outdoor shots.

    Typical luck on my part.. I get the one messed up phone out of the bunch.
  5. hitdog042
    Offline

    hitdog042 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    hmmm. I've been using an iphone for the last 6 months. Maybe I had launcher pro on my old X and it restored..

    And as I type this, I looked and sure enough, launcher pro is in there.

    You are a genius my friend, many thanks!!
  6. spacecasespiff
    Offline

    spacecasespiff New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So you got a brand new phone with a third party launcher on it. Sounds like someone was in your new phone before you were.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  7. geobernd
    Offline

    geobernd New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds to me like it restored... If you have your Google Account setup to Backup/Restore Apps they should all (or most if some are not compatible) restore automatically...
  8. jroc
    Offline

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington DC
    ^That.

    That also why the very first boot of a new Android phone if you already had an Android phone or a factory reset the phone is usually sluggish. It could be restoring apps. And apps you got from the market on the old phone might be restoring.
  9. slotz65
    Offline

    slotz65 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    Bad Camera

    Call and have them send you another one. Mine had the same prob. Took to verizon store, and the guy sent me another one. I can't remember how to add home screens to my phone though. I feel stupid, any help?
  10. nerdslogic
    Offline

    nerdslogic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cybertron
    I have another one on the way after VZW rep yesterday told me the new stock that they have does not have the blue tint in pictures. He actually snapped a few and sent them to me as I sent comparisons back. We will see if this is true or not. But mine is having obvious problems and factory reset didn't help.

    OP....did you try factory reset yet?
  11. slotz65
    Offline

    slotz65 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    wont the factory reset mess up all of the other settings (sounds notifications, etc.) That took me hours to set up?
  12. slotz65
    Offline

    slotz65 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    Won't the factory reset take everything back to default? I'd rather not do that unless there aren't any other options. I have a lot of different notifications so I can tell who at work is calling me. I like to ignore the most annoying people at night and on the weekends.
  13. slotz65
    Offline

    slotz65 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    OK, now I've really messed something up. I am getting an error message when I try to play any music. I deleted some pictures from my SD card, and think I might have messed up something.
  14. slotz65
    Offline

    slotz65 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    My phone is telling me that it doesn't support that type of file when I try to play music. Any help? I wonder if I accidentally uninstalled my music file. Can I get a system file back if I accidentally uninstalled it?
  15. digipoo
    Offline

    digipoo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The issue you are having with the inability to play media files, have you tried to restart the phone (power off and then power on)? If that does not work try downloading another music app such as google music and try again. If that does not work you will need to restore to factory.
Search tags for this page

3 home screens