My D1 & UD 3.1.0 must have been seperated at birth, because....

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by hrdnhvy, Mar 12, 2011.

  1. hrdnhvy

    hrdnhvy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    ......they are a match made in heaven, I can say without question that UD 3.1.0 is the best ROM my d1 has ever experienced. By far the smoothest & quickest in every way, every app even seem more responsive, & best the battery life Ive ever seen...excellent job BD !!
     
  2. b-jammin21

    b-jammin21 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Just out of curiosity, how are you getting such good battery life? Not that mine is terrible, but it could get better...

    Play a jam!
     
  3. wierdo124

    wierdo124 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah seems very snappy. I think it's too early to comment on battery life though.
     
  4. grinchy

    grinchy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lakeland,FL
    Ratings:
    +1
    between this and liquid 1.4...im in heaven :)
     
  5. hrdnhvy

    hrdnhvy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Battery Life

    Let me start by saying that during the week battery life is priority 1 for my droid, being that do to my job, I am unable to charge whatsoever anywhere from 9-11 hour span, so I tweak my droid as much as poosible to suit that.

    Where do I begin...well I guess of course the obvious would be, not to use any live wallpapers.

    For me its:
    Never use live wallpapers
    I dont use any widgets
    Keep all locations off both gps & network
    In "settings" - "wireless & networks" - "mobile networks" keep "data roaming" disabled
    I keep wifi off unless I am at home, which then I have in the advanced tab, wifi sleep policy set to "when screen turns off"
    I dont have or let any apps to "auto refresh" such as facebook, or weather bug, I keep them disabled from "auto refreshing"
    I dont know how much an effect this has if any on battery useage, but I also have all my animations turned off, but I do that simply because it makes my phone so much snappier
    I also utilize the automatic backlight tweaks that UD has, I use custom levels & settings for each.
    And I know this is repeated often, but NEVER use any task killer app, I use "autostarts" from the market (that Skull One recommended) to control your apps even before they are allowed to start (if u think that is a drain)
    Also, use & experiment with the advanced tab in SetCpu, I have found threw experimentation, that adjusting the "up threshold" up or down greatly affects battery drain & why is pretty obvious, in laymens terms it sets how soon your cpu ramps to 100% & more importantly it obviosly so affects how much time your cpu runs @ 100%, I have especially found that with Gingerbread this # can be set relatively high, do to the added demands Gingerbread seems to put on the cpu, its going to load the cpu harder therefore ramping up the cpu sooner, right now, looking at my droid I have my Up Threshold set to 95%, & my d1 is plenty snappy for me.

    Im sure I miss some of my tweaks, if I did Ill post em as they come.
     
  6. hrdnhvy

    hrdnhvy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    I noticed in your signature, you have Raidzero's kernel listed, I ran a Raidzero kernel & for my d1 I was initially very impressed with its performance, but when my d1 came to sleep, it was suffering from insomnia, Im not saying this is the case for you at all & I AM IN NO WAY knocking on Raidzero's kernels, as we all know kernels are on a ph to ph basis, but I would, after several hours of being unplugged & several hours of your ph "sleeping" in settings-about phone-battery history-look what your #'s are at, especially compare the "running" & the "screen on" as well as "android system"....

     
  7. b-jammin21

    b-jammin21 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Wow thanks for the awesome write up. FYI, I'm not running raidzero anymore. I flashed chevy's lv 1ghz from rom manager and my phone likes it a lot. Thanks again man.

    Play a jam!
     
  8. hrdnhvy

    hrdnhvy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem, as much as the forums have help me, I try to be of help whenever I can.
     
  9. outlaw.99

    outlaw.99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didnt tweak as much as you did for battery, but I did go back and turn back the overclock to 600... The only delay I have noticed is when switching from keyboard mode... But I do run a few widgets so they have to refresh when closing keyboard....
     
  10. Ripster

    Ripster Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sahuarita, Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're right...everything is phone-by-phone. Have you ran LGB 1.4? No doubt UD and Liquid are the best ROMs out there. I used UD's Froyo ROM exclusively. Then I changed to LGB as they were leading the way for Gingerbread. What are you're getting with UD that LGB is unable to give you? From what I'm reading, UD's 3.1.0 bug list is growing where Liquid's is pretty much perfected (there's still a few minor things to tweak). Let's see if you can persuade me to switch again...
     
  11. outlaw.99

    outlaw.99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just grabbed 3.1.1 .... It states no wipe needed if already on 3.1.0....
     
  12. hrdnhvy

    hrdnhvy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know, I dl'd it to my sd card but have yet to pull the trigger, since Im so darn impressed & pleased with 3.1.0...I might wait for a more thorough update...