My camera is suddenly focusing like it should!!??

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by denlem, Nov 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. denlem

    denlem Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Douglas, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, I had some issues with some apps where I decided to do a factory reset.

    Like everyone else, my camera has a hard time focusing. Well, after my reset, the camera suddenly seems to be focusing much better!

    I noticed this while reading bar codes reinstalling my apps. Instead of focusing in and out constantly and settling on a blurred image, it attempted the focusing once or twice and captured the barcode in focus.

    I then took a few pics inside and focusing went quick and pics were in focus. Previously I would take pics and get the red bars. Now they are coming up green.

    Now, for those who haven't done a reset and are not aware, when you do that, the phone needs to be programmed, so you need to go through the *228 process with it.

    Could it be possible that Verizon is quietly pushing a camera update during this programming?

    The camera does not have the same issues it had before my reset.

    Is there a way to tell if there has been any sort of updated, even if it's just the camera and not the bigger Dec 11 update?

    My Firmware is still showing 2.0 and the build is ESD20. Are the baseband and kernal versions updated on software updates?
     
  2. New2u

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,710
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +76
    Yeah, they have been reporting that some of the autofocus problems that people have been having might get fixed if you do a hard reset. Mine although was not one of those ;) so i must wait like most others. But i am glad that yours is working :)
     
  3. cereal killer

    cereal killer Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,405
    Likes Received:
    1,317
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,464
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
  4. New2u

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,710
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +76
  5. denlem

    denlem Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Douglas, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow, I've wiped down the lens quite a bit in the past and didn't see that fix it in the past. I wonder if that is what finally did it for me?

    I just took my greasy Cheez-it covered fingers and messup the lens and it's still focusing.

    Hmmm....
     
  6. New2u

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,710
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +76
    They could have put out a quiet fix, it's possible just haven't seen any update to the number on my build or firmware or anything.
     
  7. denlem

    denlem Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Douglas, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Firmware and build hasn't changed, but these 2 i'm not sure of...

    Baseband version C_01.3B.01P

    Kernal version 2.6.29-omap1-g04df51f android-build@apa26 #477
     
  8. denlem

    denlem Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Douglas, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. foolie

    foolie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SJ, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes its working. Attached below is a pic I took of text, before I could never focus it! Camera works now, one big less thing for me to worry about...now to get the phone rooted :D

    [​IMG]
     
  10. tablatronix

    tablatronix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OMG mine too. This doesnt make any sense. I even did a factory reset a few days ago and it did nothing to fix it. I did notice that some of my widgets were broken this morning an di had to reset them up. hmm. I guess I should test the quality now to see if its just lines color.
     
    #10 tablatronix, Nov 17, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2009
  11. Boris Badenov

    Boris Badenov Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    In your blind spot
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here...!
    I still like my nikon better though :)
     
  12. Inundated

    Inundated Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Northeast Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Add me to the list. I had the usual poorly focusing clicking camera, and as of this afternoon, it is FIXED. Auto-focus is quick, and I am getting the green arrows for the first time ever. Bar code scanning works and works well, and quickly...takes no more a second or two to pick up any bar code. And no more clicking!

    I'm thrilled!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.