Multimedia Dock question

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by goodwidp, Jun 23, 2011.

  1. goodwidp

    goodwidp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I posted this a while ago on another Droid related forum but never received a response so I figured I would try my luck here instead. I searched for this topic here but couldn't find anything that solved my issue.

    I had a question about some of the removed blur apps and how to re-install them. I followed the directions in the official Apex RC 2 thread to use Terminal Emulator to restore the missing apps yet I am still having issues. For example, I use the multimedia dock and want to use the "Desk Home" app each time I connect the Droid to the dock and even though I re-installed "Dock.apk" using the instructions, I still cannot get it to appear when I dock the phone. If I go to App Manager it clearly shows that Desk Home is installed but I still cannot figure out how to actually access it.

    Also, just want to extend my sincere thanks for all those who took the time to make this great ROM possible.

    Edit: One other question that came up. I would like to try out different ROMS to compare them (namely CM7 and LibGB) and wanted to see the easiest/quickest way to go about switching between them. I did make a Nandroid backup immediately after I upgraded to GB (before ApeX RC2) plus another Nandroid after ApeX RC2 was installed so, assuming I wanted to try another ROM, could I just flash the fresh GB Nandroid then flash the new ROM or would I still need to format/wipe cache etc...?
     
  2. Detonation

    Detonation Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +6
    I'm actually looking to do the same thing with the Multimedia Dock, and haven't had any luck either.

    As for switching ROMS, I always like to wipe everything before I install a ROM. I can't comment on if switching back to the fresh GB backup and just installing on top without a wipe would work fine or not, but its the same amount of time/hassle to just wipe data/cache anyways.
     
  3. goodwidp

    goodwidp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bump to see if anyone has any idea on how to get multimedia dock working properly with apex RC 2.0. Thanks, as always.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  4. wyld

    wyld Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    don't know if anyone is figured that out yet about blur apps. what I am going to do is get into root explorer. copy sum blur apps to my dropbox. after flashing apex I'm gonna reinstall from my dropbox. maybe that'll work?

    Sent from my rooted GB DROID X 1.15 Ghz
     
  5. goodwidp

    goodwidp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am still unable to use the blur Multimedia Dock with Apex so I would love to hear if you have any luck via this route. Good luck!
     
  6. wyld

    wyld Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Nope no luck I switched to DarkslideX

    DROIDX DarkslideX 1.15 Ghz
     
  7. goodwidp

    goodwidp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What steps did you have to take to go from Apex RC 2 to Darkslide X? Thanks
     
  8. goodwidp

    goodwidp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    One final bump to see if anyone has any alternative ideas as to how to get the Multimedia Dock working correctly. I really love Apex and would like to stay with it, but I would also love to have use of the dock as I use it on a daily basis.

    Also, If I were to switch to another ROM, could I just load my Nandroid that I made immediately after upgrading to rooted GB (.596) or would I have to do the whole wipe data/cache route?

    As always, any help and advice is sincerely appreciated.
     
  9. Detonation

    Detonation Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +6
    I'm not on Apex anymore, but did you try installing both the Dock.apk and the DockService.apk? I only did the Dock.apk when I tried before.
     
  10. goodwidp

    goodwidp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    To be honest, I cant remember if I did both files. I'll give it another shot and will report back with the results. Thanks very much!
     
  11. Detonation

    Detonation Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +6
    Well I just tried it on AOSP Liberty, after installing both apks, the option to launch Dock Home appears when docked, however actually choosing it does nothing...just takes you back to your regular home screen. I'm thinking you might need to have Blur Home installed for it to work :(

    Edit: Restored BlurHome as well and still nothing...
     
  12. goodwidp

    goodwidp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same thing happened to me. I installed dockservices.apk and while the option to open the Motorola Dock App appears (in addition to a message saying "Connected to multimedia station" in notification bar) it does nothing when I actually click on the dock app. My other dock replacement apps work OK (Gentle alarm, Desk Clock Plus) but it seems like I will indeed need Blur to use the Motorola Dock app. I really liked the look of the GB version of the dock app and dont hate Blur in general, so I may give DarkslideX a shot, though I'm still unsure on the best method to go about switching from Apex to DS. Would I have to sbf or could I just wipe data/cache and install like that? Thanks again to all who have contributed to this thread.
     
Search tags for this page

desk dock apk

,
disable mytouch 4g desk dock
,

motorola multimedia dock apk