Multimedia Dock problem

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by gdpenney, Oct 11, 2010.

  1. gdpenney
    Offline

    gdpenney New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I dock my Droid 2, I get this message:

    "Problem loading widget" instead of the weather widget. Can't find a solution. Manual with dock is worthless when it comes to this stuff.:icon_eek:
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I've never seen that, so it makes me think you've got something nasty running in your Droid. Let's try the basics. Reset it first. If that doesn't help try a 30 second battery pull. And if you still have an issue, it's an app.

    If you're running task killers or virus protection get rid of them. You don't need that. If that doesn't fix it then you may have to go and do a factory data reset in your privacy section of your settings.
  3. ABQNM
    Offline

    ABQNM New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As hookbill said, it is most likely a task killer. If you are not using one, try this. From your homescreen, press menu then settings. Then go to applications. Then choose Manage Applications. Choose the All tab and find News and Weather. Choose that and press the clear data button. I recommend restarting the phone and then try putting it back in the dock and ideally that should help.
  4. gdpenney
    Offline

    gdpenney New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I disabled my task killer and virus checker. Cleared the data in News & Weather. Restarted after battery removal for 45 seconds. Nothing works. I'm very reluctant to do a Factory Reset. Not sure what it removes and how long to get it back. Maybe I don't need the weather that bad on the dock.
  5. wb1960
    Offline

    wb1960 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same issue. I am rooted 2.2 I have no task killer or antivirus programs on my phone. Also, I dont have news and weather when I click on the all tab.All I have is weatherbug. I have done a factory reset also
  6. gdpenney
    Offline

    gdpenney New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I called Verizon and they transferred me to Motorola. I ended up doing a full reset back to factory defaults. That solved the problem. Both Verizon and Motorola told me that I did not need a virus app, so now I don't have one. It may have been the original culprit.

    Backup Assistant reloaded all my apps but I lost data that I had to reload manually. Wish some of these apps saved to the SD card.
  7. droidguy3
    Offline

    droidguy3 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BETHLEHEM, PA
    Same problem:

    I've got the same problem... Haven't really tried to solve it yet... I am running an app killer so I'm going to try to uninstall that and see what happens... I don't like the idea of going back to factory settings at this point... I'll probably just use it as a clock with the alarm function... It is a disappointment though... Things are never as easy as advertised with these tech devices...:mad::mad::mad:
  8. gdpenney
    Offline

    gdpenney New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am running an AppKiller and have no problems with it. It was not the culprit for my dock problem.
  9. geewiz2k1
    Offline

    geewiz2k1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Launcher Pro Plus

    How many of you have Launcher Pro installed? I have the same problem and from what i understand Launcher pro is causing it. No solution has been worked on as of yet.
  10. rangerpsg
    Offline

    rangerpsg New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, GA
    Question regarding Rooted phones and Docking Weather issue.

    I am currently running Apex 1.3.1 and was wondering what would be the result if I factory reset my phone. Will I lose my custom ROM and root? Thank you.:icon_eek:
  11. droidguy3
    Offline

    droidguy3 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BETHLEHEM, PA
    Multimedia Dock

    I don't have Launcher Pro installed... Still have the problem... Reset phone to factory specs... Dock worked until I reloaded apps... Now the dock has the same problem... Must be in the apps somewhere...
  12. me4droid
    Offline

    me4droid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dock and weather widgit not working

    anyone solve this problem? I'm having the same problem. Tried clearing data in weather app. No go. I am not running launcher pro, any anti-virus or any app killers. So I guess it's something else, but what?

    Anyone else using juice defender and having the problem. I force closed juice defender but still no weather widgit. Battery pull didn't work either.
  13. me4droid
    Offline

    me4droid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Weather Widget for docking station-fixed!

    Hopefully this will help others. I looked all over this forum and the Motorola forum to fix this issue. I didn't find an answer, but found this solution on my own.

    Here's how I finally fixed it.
    1. Placed phone in docking station (showed "problem loading widget")
    2. Press and hold icon saying "problem loading widget, then throw it in the trash!
    3. Click on the menu key and choose "add"
    4. Choose Dock Widgets
    5. Choose Weather
    6. Change set-up as desired (set-up screen will appear)
    7. Click on Done

    It worked for me--hope it works for you!dancedroid
  14. K20turbo
    Offline

    K20turbo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hollyhood
    :blackdroid:
    same here although i figured out on my own.. and also the weather temp is blocked in view if gps is off it sucks
  15. hufn
    Offline

    hufn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not sure if it is the same with the d2 but on my d1 I can manually set a location from the settings... No need for gps...

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
Search tags for this page

atrix multimedia dock problem

,
cannot find droid x2 default multimedia dock application
,
easy mode problem loading widget
,
motorola droid dock problems