Multi-touch keyboard support for Froyo

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by Larry_ThaGr81, Aug 14, 2010.

  1. Larry_ThaGr81
    Offline

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. RedBull
    Offline

    RedBull Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok...here is the noob question...what is a multi-touch keyboard? Does it allow us to pinch and zoom on the screen to make typing easier? I'm not entirely up to speed on that...
  3. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    The best way I can explain the Multi-Touch Keyboard is if you press and hold the shift or caps key you can then touch another key and the Capital or Shift function will take place, where as on the Droid 1 you press Shift/Caps and let go and that is good for one Shifted Character, with the multi touch if you press shift and do not press another key while you have shift key pressed the Shift/Caps lock will be activated, kind of how it works on a computer, this makes typing faster because the keyboard will recognize the next key you press almost before you let up from the first one, if you can type that fast, also it brings the same functions to the physical keyboard (along with an on screen spell corrector) it is a very nice addition to my Original Droid but I use Swype almost exclusively
  4. linkboy
    Offline

    linkboy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sweet, I've been waiting for this for a while.
  5. djh074
    Offline

    djh074 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Confirmed working on Droid 1! installed via SPRecovery with no problems. UI is ugly, but keyboard works fine. hopefully someone will be able to skin this thing!
  6. Bateluer
    Offline

    Bateluer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed it, and then uninstalled it after a day. It still messes with the settings of the hardware keyboard, just like the kanged Droid X keyboard did. I have my hardware keyboard set a certain way and I don't want the virtual keyboard to touch those settings in anyway.
  7. djh074
    Offline

    djh074 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    have u tried the "fixed" version? just tried the hardware keyboard and everything seemed fine. only used it for a few mins though. i dont use the hardware keyboard, but u might want to try it again.
  8. jaydoubledub
    Offline

    jaydoubledub Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't get my hardware keyboard to properly work. I'm getting alt where i don't want it and it's all buggy. is there an update for it?
    I'm running the D1 and 4.8 with the Dark Theme
Search tags for this page

multi press keypad android