multi tasking

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by dustinweim, Feb 15, 2010.

  1. dustinweim
    Offline

    dustinweim New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    minnesota
    so if me drois is rooted can i multi task on it?
  2. Reks
    Offline

    Reks New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    your droid can multi task out of the box mate
  3. dustinweim
    Offline

    dustinweim New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    minnesota
    so i can surf the net and talk on the phone
  4. zudien
    Offline

    zudien New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As long as your phone is on a CDMA network (Verizon, Sprint). You will not be able too. This is not the phones fault this is the network problem.

    A GSM Network (ATT, T-Mobile) will allow you to do this.

    A rooted phone on a CDMA network is still a phone on a CDMA network.

    Also multi tasking is not defined as talking on the phone and surfing the web (using 2 networks).

    I don't now if it's been tested but it would be possible to use WiFi and talk on the phone at the same time.
  5. jtebrak
    Offline

    jtebrak New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't feed the trolls.
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2010
  6. Laurence5905
    Offline

    Laurence5905 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mableton, Georgia, USA
    It has been tested, and it does work -- you can talk on the phone and browse the web if you're using a WiFi connection to do your web-browsing. There are videos of it on YouTube.

    (edit: No rooting required to do it, either.)
  7. Guurzak
    Offline

    Guurzak New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can also talk+surf if you're using SIPdroid or another VOIP client.

    And if you want to talk+surf on AT&T, you have to find a place with 3G coverage, AND manage to not get your call dropped.... good luck with that!
  8. StupidGenius
    Offline

    StupidGenius Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Westchester County, NY
    I live just outside NYC and work in Manhattan. I've known for a long time that you can't surf and talk on the Verizon network. The funny thing is, I know many friends and coworkers with iPhones and maybe 3 have said that it's a function they use often.
  9. BradDroid
    Offline

    BradDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've never needed to do it and I'm still on AT&T.
  10. natty_lite
    Offline

    natty_lite New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Sure, turn on WiFi.
  11. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know over 100 with the iPhone and can Honestly say I've never seen any of them do it either.
  12. mattygabe
    Offline

    mattygabe New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    WHAT?! You're saying a company used marketing to turn a little-known or little-used feature into a point of contention?!

    And I thought it was just the beer companies making up new "technologies"... Sheesh.:)
Search tags for this page

multitasking on android