Moving to the D3. What do I need to do?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Big D, Jul 11, 2011.

  1. Big D
    Offline

    Big D New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I sold the D1 to help with the upgrade cost. I just need to know what to do.

    I gave the buyer the option of leaving it rooted (Liquid 2.1) or un-rooting it and going back to factory stock. Haven't heard back from him yet. But I need to know what I need to do in either case to erase all my info/files/data off the phone and get it ready for the buyer

    My questions are these:

    1. Can I wipe all info/files/data and still remain rooted?

    2. what do I need to do to save all this info for the new phone? There will be a day or 2 that I won't have either phone so I need to get this to a remote place to save for the upload to the D3.

    If someone could walk me through the process, I'd be eternally grateful.

    Thanks, gang!
  2. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    You can just do a data wipe and you will still be rooted.

    Also, you can use Titanium Backup and put everything on an SD Card or use something like Dropbox and upload all your files there.

    SkyNet Liberty AOSP
  3. Big D
    Offline

    Big D New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How would I go about erasing the SD card for the buyer after I transfer everything?

    I'm thinking I can just drag everything off the card onto my computer, right? Then just drag it back on to the D3 when it comes?

    Thanks so much for your help?
  4. mjh68
    Offline

    mjh68 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, you can drag everything off , then just format the card and it will be wiped clean ready for the new owner.
  5. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    In case you didn't know, the D3 does NOT come with an SD card.
  6. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    But it DOES come with 16 gb internal storage it maps as /sdcard (well after taking out 1.5 gb to map for /data).

    So you will have /sdcard on the Droid 3 without installing a card.

    Installing one mounts the external card as /sdcard-ext

    (I have installed a 16gb card in mine).
  7. anuraj1
    Offline

    anuraj1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    Interesting, so you can't put apps on the SD card that you add in?
  8. Big D
    Offline

    Big D New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry. New to this. How do you format the card?

    Thanks again, all!