Moving apps to SD, first click always says "Failed to move" and 2nd click works

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by Parafly9, Jan 21, 2011.

  1. Parafly9

    Parafly9 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Uxbridge, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any ideas why?
     
  2. jcwilliams

    jcwilliams Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    OH
    Ratings:
    +3
    mine does the same thing. im not sure why but i am having fc issues also so i though that was related but apparently not.
     
  3. Halo

    Halo Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just tried it on mine. I moved about 10 apps to the SD card. 2 or 3 of them had the "failed to move" on the first click.
     
  4. jcwilliams

    jcwilliams Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    OH
    Ratings:
    +3
    Speaking of sdcard related issues (possibly)....does any one else have problems when having apps on sdcard? I use to have a lot of my apps on sdcard but launcher pro would fc on reboots and when I mount and unmount sdcard. So I moved all but like 5 apps to internal and it still is slow but don't fc. Any suggestions? I thought it was a sdcard problem but now I don't think that it is.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  5. dfarrell151

    dfarrell151 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Shrewsbury Pa
    Ratings:
    +0
    apps 2sd

    I found u don't want to switch any app. That u use a widget or a home replacement also if u want to use the app while mount sd card leave it in internal
     
  6. ziltoid

    ziltoid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I get the same message when moving apps to sd also. Not sure why it does that. And yes, you dont want to move launchers and widgets to sdcard. Keep those internal.

    Sent from my Droid
     
  7. Skurvy_Pirate

    Skurvy_Pirate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    I get the same thing sometimes. I think it happens when you are moving apps that aren't meant for apps2sd. Usually when you do it if the app is running it will ask if you want to close the app I think. Maybe with ones that are not apps2sd enabled the first try fails, but closes the app (it doesn't work "nicely" like it does with apps2sd enabled apps), then the second try succeeds because the app is closed.

    That is just my theory haha.
     
  8. jcwilliams

    jcwilliams Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    OH
    Ratings:
    +3
    Good theory. Sounds like that could be the problem to me also.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  9. Dave12308

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    I always figured it was a bug. Since it's easy to work around, I never really worried about it *LOL*
     
Search tags for this page
android failed to move application
,
app2sd failed to move application
,
failed to move app to sd card
,

failed to move application

,
failed to move application android
,
failed to move application sd card
,
failed to move application to sd card
,
failed to move application to sd card android
,
failed to move to sd card
,
moving failed android