Moved from Palm Pre+ to used D2 rooted..need help

sailorfitz

Reaction score
Hi all.

I'm new and would like nothing but to lurk every page here while at work but I'm hoping you can save me some headache and get right to the meat or give me some links to get up to speed. I'm not a coder, but i have stayed at a Holiday Inn a few times....Otherwise, I'm pretty savvy with computers and have both a Macbook Pro and a Vista at my disposal. I rooted my Palm and overclocked it for a bit, but it eat up the battery....mostly I just played with loading "pre-made" tweaks that were simple to load on a rooted (called Homebrew in Palm world) Palm. I enjoyed things like removing the Verizon banner, adding a tweak that allowed 16 apps on a page (card) vs just 12....battery % vs a symbol, etc, etc ...little tweaks here and there that made having a Homebrew Palm fun. Well, that was fun but the hardware suked arse. The OS was awesome but the hardware..fail. Also I'm a huge fan of location based apps and Vzw crippled the GPS in the Palm unless you used their $10/month Nav service...NOT. The main reason I got the phone was the free 5gigs of wifi teather/hotspot to use with my iPad.
The deal breaker was when at the Daytona 500 last weekend, I wanted to upload photos to facebook, use foursquare, etc and was unable to ...it just wouldn’t do what I wanted to....so yesterday I grabbed a used Vzw Droid 2 from Craigslist. It was listed as rooted. I didn’t need it to be, but the draw was the option list for wifi tethering.