Mounting?

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Roms' started by vizzard82, Feb 26, 2011.

  1. vizzard82
    Offline

    vizzard82 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm new to the whole falshing roms and themes. I've noticed that some require you to "mount". When I get to recovery I notice more than one mounting option. What do I mount and why do I have to mount?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  2. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Mount means connecting your phone to your computer via the USB cable. Once connected the icon that displays on your computers screen is your SD card
     
  3. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35
    The mount /system option (with then change to unmount /system). I believe that's only needed when installing a ROM though.

    DroidForums Junkie!!
     
  4. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,164
    Likes Received:
    891
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +908
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    To expand on what Mike said after its connected you drag the pulldown down and hit connect USB.

    That will in turn mount the SD card so you can see it on PC like Mike said

    Sent from my Droid
     
  5. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Thanks for the fill in CK. Sorry OP.
     
  6. vizzard82
    Offline

    vizzard82 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    But why do some roms require me to mount my phone? And what mounting option do I choose? I think the options are, mount system, mount sd card, and I think there is one more. This is all in bootstrap recovery mode

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  7. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12

    I believe you select mount SD card. This will give you a way to move the rom from your computer to your SD card then install.

    You should be downloading the rom from the developers site then rename to update.zip. Once you do that you can install.

    Hope this is helpful.

    Mike
     
  8. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35
    First thing: are you flashing a ROM? Second: is the zip already on the root of your sd card? Or is it on your PC?

    DroidForums Junkie!!
     
  9. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35
    He's using a D2 which uses Clockworkmod so renaming is unnecessary.



    DroidForums Junkie!!
     
  10. vizzard82
    Offline

    vizzard82 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Using droid 2 bootstrapper. The rom is on my sd card. It is not renamed. I just choose install from sd card when I'm in bootstrap recovery. I have had any serious problems so far doing it this way, but I'm concerned that I might not be installing the roms correctly 100 percent. Seeings how I'm not mounting. I'm a perfectionist and there is probably nothing wrong with how I'm doing this but just wanted so opinions.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  11. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35
    Ok. I've always done it before installing on DXs and D2s. Some ROMs automatically mount /system if you forgot. Still a good practice to get into though.
    *Edit* - Just to clarify, you are in Clockworkmod Recovery, Bootstrapper installs and reboots you into it :)



    DroidForums Junkie!!
     
  12. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    If what you described works (successfully installs on your phone) then there is no need to change.
     
  13. vizzard82
    Offline

    vizzard82 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh, right on. So when mounting, do I just select all the mounting option in clockwork?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  14. vizzard82
    Offline

    vizzard82 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  15. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I do not use CW so I'm not positive
     
Similar Threads
  1. sehorn12385
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,181
  2. spruce_rd
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    486
  3. papatar
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    536
  4. blak422
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    2,795
  5. grizcoach
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    3,452
Loading...