Motorola's Milestone3 a.k.a. the Droid3 Officially Announced in China

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Jun 17, 2011.

  1. dgstorm

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10,248
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +3,765
    [​IMG]

    It looks like the heavily anticipated Droid 3 is heading to China first as the Milestone 3. Earlier we shared some previewed info on the new Droid 3/Milestone 3, and now it has been officially announced by Motorola and will hit China's markets first. Industry rumors suggest that we may see it here in the states on July 7th, which is, excitingly, only a few weeks away! Just as a reminder, here again are the specs on this amazing beast:
    • Dual-core processor (still not sure which, but we’re thinking OMAP)
    • 4″ qHD screen
    • Android 2.3
    • 5-row slideout keyboard
    • 16GB internal storage
    • Global capabilities
    • 8MP camera (1080p video)
    • Front camera for video chatting
    Hit the Motorola source link for the official press release.

    Source: Droid-Life and Motorola
     
  2. xsylus

    xsylus Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ, USA, Earth
    Ratings:
    +51
    Current Phone Model:
    Sony Xperia Z3
    Can't wait to see the specs for the U.S. version, especially the storage space for apps + data.
     
  3. JohnnytheK

    JohnnytheK Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +53
    and RAM too.
     
  4. Jasko

    Jasko Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still holding my breath on the bootloader. Hoping someone will be able to unlock it lol.
     
  5. Limbwalker

    Limbwalker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gator Country
    Ratings:
    +1
    What about 4G capability. I am due for an upgrade and have been waiting for dancedroidthe Droid3 . . .
     
  6. trestevenson

    trestevenson Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +33
    Current Phone Model:
    Huawei Nexus 6P
    It apparently doesn't have a 4G radio, and it may only come with 512MB of RAM. I was a bit let down by the specs, but I'll wait for some hands-on reviews of the US version before I judge.
     
  7. cloudstrife05

    cloudstrife05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Doupt if it will have 4g since its a Global phone. Maybe Moto's answer to the DInc2?
    2.3 is nice, Hoping for the Tegra though
     
  8. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    The pics on Droid Life have Nvidia on the screen. Good chance it might have a Tegra 2.
     
  9. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    I hope it doesn't have the Tegra, I think the other processor would be better. Don't care about 4g so if this doesn't have the tegra then this will be my next phone. Kinda hope it isn't global either as global phones seem to drain battery

    Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk
     
  10. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    620
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +687
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    It's supposed to be a global device. And global phones don't drain battery any differently in the US than non-global phones if your turn the radio to CDMA only. Then it's as if the GSM radio isn't even there.
     
  11. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ah....well the 2 d2g's that I had drained extended batteries in less than a day just sitting in my pocket.....that is not good imo

    Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk
     
  12. tonydelite

    tonydelite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    according to xda.cn, it has the OMAP4430.

    新起点新里程碑 首å°MOTO 里程碑3详细评测-|XDA智能手机网 |智能手机︱评测︱软件︱游æˆï¸±ä¸‹è½½ï¸±æŽ¨è︱智能手机导购︱HTC