Motorola Tells Customer to “Buy Elsewhere” if They Want Custom ROMs

Discussion in 'Android News' started by Preach2k, Jan 19, 2011.

  1. UltraDroid

    UltraDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Likes Received:
    502
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio - The North Coast!
    Ratings:
    +552
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 3, straight stock
    I have been saying for some time now that Motorola is The Evil Empire - this just confirms my argument that they have a deep seated *hatred* for people who root their phones.

    -Mike
     
  2. ilikemoneygreen

    ilikemoneygreen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Ratings:
    +18
    If you want vanilla your going to need to get Nexus S or go back to an older phone. (or buy a cheap device made by an offshore company) Htc has sense integrated into the Operating System. Maybe a nexus 3 will come dual core.
     
  3. porkbrains

    porkbrains Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Medford, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unfortunately, I think this is the case on some level.

    It would be a good compromise in my mind to send out an update that "unlocks" the bootloader once they decide to stop supporting the device with OTAs. I wouldn't mind dealing with Blur for a while if I knew that the bad news that my phone is on the EOL list would actually be good news because my phone has been set free... "Run away little phone, be who you always wanted to be!" dancedroid

    Coming from an Eris user's perspective, I understand the rationale behind not spending boatloads of resources to support entry-level devices after their prime, but after personally witnessing the magic of Froyo and Gingerbread on my phone, it is insane that I'm not "allowed" to extend the life of my phone if a similar situation happens in the future with a Moto device.

    Again, I get that Moto is almost happy for my phone to lose function so I have to buy a new one, but my loyalty to a company that would make it possible to extend the life of my phone which no longer receives OTAs would be unshakable.

    I'd mention the 2-year contract aspect, but honestly, anyone who doesn't spring for the extra $70 to get a 1-year contract is a fool in present circumstances.
     
  4. Dusty

    Dusty Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,180
    Likes Received:
    483
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    DC/NoVA
    Ratings:
    +597
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 3XL
    I know, I know.... I facepalmed myself just for saying it!

    But all this talk about lockdowns made me miss the good old days with my Mogul. You could literally hop onto a forum and ask one of the chefs to whip up a piece of code that could do one thing or another and within days they'd put something together to get the job done... right out of the box. No hassles not lockdowns... nothing!

    Of course no one could keep the phone from stalling like a rented mule. But hey! That was the cost of doing business back then!
     
  5. pc747

    pc747 Regular Member
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    25,617
    Likes Received:
    6,746
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +7,367
    Bootloader Feedback Policy | Facebook

    Bootloader Feedback Policy


    by Motorola on Wednesday, January 19, 2011 at 4:22pm

    We apologize for the feedback we provided regarding our bootloader policy. The response does not reflect the views of Motorola.

    We are working closely with our partners to offer a bootloader solution that will enable developers to use our devices as a development platform while still protecting our users' interests. More detailed information will follow as we get closer to availability.
     
  6. rivera82falcon

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I enjoyed the custom roms but after a while the performance and functionality of my D1 dropped. I don't mind the stock rom as long as I can root. That's my own opinion though.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  7. Sports1131

    Sports1131 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the clarification. I guess I'm a little confused on the difference between the operating system and a ROM then.

    I'm still stuck on a BlackBerry (waiting as patiently as possible to switch to an LTE Android phone), but I always thought that a ROM contains the operating system so something like a base Gingerbread ROM would be possible. I figured Sense and Blur are basically software overlays that cannot be removed without flashing a new ROM to the device.
     
  8. Haloman800

    Haloman800 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What exactly does a locked bootloader mean? There are ROMs on the DX which has a locked bootloader, so what does it mean?

    If ROMs are possible on the DX even though it has a locked bootloader, will they be possible on the BIONIC?
     
  9. ilikemoneygreen

    ilikemoneygreen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Ratings:
    +18
    A Rom is basically the OS but the new Sense has many files which would take a while to go through to get it vanilla. Its possible but if my memory is right, when the Thunderbolts Rom leaked they found out that its not just one file. Thats from a bad perspective though as i do not own an htc, i just read up every now and then. Im sure someone might be more informing than me on the that topic.
     
  10. cmaag

    cmaag Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If there is a drive for these keys then they will be found just as they were on the ps3.... need it be a leak or the drive for someone to write the algorithm it will be done
     
  11. forum8417

    forum8417 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What a shame. Good doing business with you Motorola. They clearly dont give a crap about their customers.
     
  12. Hugh Jass

    Hugh Jass Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Ratings:
    +123