1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Motorola processes on Liberty GB

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by onebreezymonkey, Apr 23, 2011.

  1. onebreezymonkey
    Offline

    onebreezymonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    While looking through settings->applications->manage apps->'all' tab, I noticed a few motorola processes with only their system-level names. I noticed also that when using automatic task killer my free ram never goes above 200 as it did on Liberty 2.0.1. I was curious to know both what they are doing there and if I can remove them in order to save just that little extra bit of ram.

    This is my first post on any of the Droid forums but I'd like you all to know that the amount of support and information on here is phenomenal, and it is very much appreciated. You've guided me from root to rooted apps to roms and themes.

    Also: I've fallen in love with liberty so keep up the good work. Updates and support are more than timely and helpful.

    Uploaded screenshots of said processes.

    -Breeze

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums

    Attached Files:

  2. mcp770
    Offline

    mcp770 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville
    Lose the task killer app. Unlike old motor and blackberry phones the android os is designed to manage memory itself. You actually use more processes and battery when the apps restart themselves in the background using killers. Google why not to use task killers. Very interesting read from android devs.
  3. Slow88lx
    Offline

    Slow88lx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bwahahahah!

    Look closely. :wink:
  4. onebreezymonkey
    Offline

    onebreezymonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wonder how I could have missed that article! Especially since it's been around so long.

    So all task killer issues aside, do you know what some of the more cryptic processes or apps (whichever they may be) are? the spellchecker is a no brainer. I just didn't expect to see motorola in a liberty build.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  5. andylulzyou
    Offline

    andylulzyou New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    It's impossible for us to completely remove motorola from the build because of the locked bootloader.
  6. Koveleski
    Offline

    Koveleski Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Poughkeepsie
    Some motorola elements need to remain, otherwise they cause issues. Like the contacts issue? That was because we removed the yahoo app -- but then had to re-add it. In order to make the rom friendly for people who like Blur apps, most moto things have to stick around (plus it helps for stability). A lot of the reboot issues in pre-GB liberty were due to the portions of blur that were removed.
Search tags for this page

liberty rom process motorla