Motorola Milestone Overclocking and rooting

Discussion in 'Motorola Milestone' started by RacecarBMW, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. RacecarBMW

    RacecarBMW Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok thanks because what I mainly want is just to get the higher clock speed
    Is the droid on stock mhz(550) comparable to the snapdragons or no
     
  2. Szadzik

    Szadzik Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is not, that is why people overclock it.
     
  3. RacecarBMW

    RacecarBMW Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok thanks a lot I am planning on running it at 800 mhz Do you think this will decrease the the life of the phone by a lot what about 1 ghz
     
  4. Szadzik

    Szadzik Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have not tested the battery life so I would not be able to say.

    I would say that if you use SetCPU and set up profiles the right way you will not see any difference. There is not much performance improvement on 1GHz against 800MHz though unless you play games.

    Temperatures on the other hand are noticeably lower on 800MHz compared to 1GHz.
     
    #16 Szadzik, Jun 17, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2010
  5. joa

    joa New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not sure if at stock speed the milestone is a constant 550mhz (even in standby) or if it's incremental, I assume the former. I have a kernel locked milestone and am using milestone-overclock set to 800Mhz (phone is a lot more responsive), I'm using 1 profile in setCPU with a minimum of 125Mhz-800Mhz.

    I honestly haven't noticed any change in battery life.

    hope that helps,

    joa

    edit: something i have noticed is when overclocked with the above it's fine throughout the OS and app, when playing games i get the occasional restart. There could be several reasons for this and i'm not going to blame the clock speed just yet. I have been messing around with the bootloader. will report any findings though.
     
    #17 joa, Jun 18, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2010
  6. RacecarBMW

    RacecarBMW Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you have a case

    do you think putting a case on will affect the heat or life of the phone
     
  7. Szadzik

    Szadzik Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What kind of case do you mean? One that will only serve while the phone is not used and the phone needs to be take out of it to be used or one that you will keep the phone in all the time?

    If you put the phone into a case for it to be idle than it will not get hot because it will not be doing anything requiring CPU power.

    If you put the phone into something and keep it in it all the time and also while working with the phone than you may run into problems - will you run into heating issues? Try for ourself - it is not going to explode, it will just show that the temps are higher, you will stop using it and it will cool down. You will know for sure when you try.
     
  8. RacecarBMW

    RacecarBMW Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Ratings:
    +0
    is there some sort of app that can tell me the temperature on my droid and not the battery temprature
     
  9. Szadzik

    Szadzik Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, I do not think so.
     
  10. RacecarBMW

    RacecarBMW Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok thanks
    I can't wait to try this
     
  11. Croak

    Croak New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You don't need SetCPU, and after a couple weeks of experimenting, I'd say you don't WANT SetCPU.

    The Milestone/Droid will still clock up and down dynamically to save power without SetCPU running. It also clocks up and down in much smaller increments when needed, where SetCPU only has 4 speeds, 125/250/500/Max.

    SetCPU can cause some system slowdowns and stability issues that go away when not running it. I'm not knocking the program, but for a Milestone/Droid, it's just not needed.

    The only real use for SetCPU is to let you downclock if it gets too hot, or to lock the speed at maximum (really only handy for benchmarks).

    You can easily verify that the Milestone/Droid is dynamically adjusting power by installing SystemPanel Lite. It'll show you a dynamic CPU speed value (as well as battery temp and internal temp sensor), etc. Nice little free app.

    Also, experiment with voltages. I'm able to run my Milestone at 850mhz with a VSEL of 50 (which is lower than the stock VSEL of 56). Without needing SetCPU, my system runs cooler and gets better battery life than default, but bursts up to max speed when needed. Since it runs cooler (never seen higher than 38c), there's no need for SetCPU for a temperature throttle.

    850mhz was the sweet spot for me, a hair faster than a Nexus/Desire/Incredible/EVO running a Snapdragon and Android 2.1.

    At 1000mhz, it's much faster than a Snapdragon in benchmarks, but you really only notice it in benchmarks, day to day operation of the phone you have to work hard to feel the difference between 1000 and 850mhz.
     
  12. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    But can you set up profiles that will lower the clock speed when it gets too hot? Or lower the clock speed when your battery hits a certain point? Setcpu is very handy. You can get it free over at xda-developers.com, but I can't link it on my phone. The market is his way of getting donations for his work. Also, I can't remember the apps name, maybe it was tempmonitor..., but it was made for droid kernels that had the built in feature, so I doubt it will work for the milestone.
     
Search tags for this page
after milestone overclock phone wont boot what should i do
,
milestone overclock 10.apk
,

milestone overclock apk

,
milestone overclock.apk
,
motorola milestone cpu cooling
,
motorola milestone overclock module
,
motorola milestone tricks