Motorola Droid Update Continues Through Sept 4

Discussion in 'Android News' started by danDroid, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. danDroid
    Offline

    danDroid DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    63
    [​IMG]

    If you haven't received the latest update for the Droid that allows you to install Flash from the marketplace, your not alone. According to a recent post on Droid-Life, the FRG22D roll out will continue all the way through September 4th.
    Source: Droid-Life.com
  2. Josefius
    Offline

    Josefius Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I'm still waiting for my update.
  3. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know WHY the Droid 1 update is the ONLY one not to have Flash preinstalled? My guess is due to the rather large memory footprint of Flash, they wanted to make it an optional download rather than force it on people; but another part of me wants to say that it's due to the Droid 1 being a "Google Experience" device. Wonder if that's what the dispute with Adobe was regarding?
  4. jnic
    Offline

    jnic New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The last update rendered my sirius radio app useless. After editing build.prop got it to work. Received another update today but did not install. Is this update going to screw up more apps?
  5. thedefectkid
    Offline

    thedefectkid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I still can't believe its taking them this long for them to release this over the air when roms have had it for over a month. Step you game up Moto and VZ
  6. ziggy1016
    Offline

    ziggy1016 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Exchange Issues

    Just got the update this morning and it is asking me for some pretty serious access from Exchange:

    For example: Ability to wipe the device remotely.

    What does this mean? Does my company now have access to wipe my device? Do I now have access to wipe my device remotely if I lose it?

    If so, how do I access these additional features?
  7. Snoking
    Offline

    Snoking Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Would someone that received FRG22D OTA please post the baseband and kernel info from sttings, about phone. Chris
  8. Sweettooth
    Offline

    Sweettooth New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Never thought I'd be defending either one of these companies but I digress...

    What you have to understand is that these are multi-billion dollar companies; they can't really afford to lose millions of dollars releasing flawed software to millions of consumers. This means having to rigorously test their products and endure an approval and analysis process that goes across more channels than either of us can probably imagine before finally being able to push out even the most minuscule update. A lot of the wait is likely just preparation, and even then things don't always go according to plan.

    Rom makers on the other hand are likely just as smart as the hacks at these large corporations, with the difference being they are self funded and they have a smaller market. I can release a rom before the big boys, and it's up to you whether or not you want to download it. If it's flawed, oh well, hope it didn't brick your phone and I'll fix it later; if it works well, then great. Big corporations don't typically roll dice so if playing it safe means pissing you off, then pissed off you will be. ;)
  9. ziggy1016
    Offline

    ziggy1016 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Baseband version: C_01.43.01P
    Kernel version: 2.6.32.9-g874c292 andriod-build@apa26 #1
    Build number: FRG22D
  10. Hiker5208
    Offline

    Hiker5208 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Admins will be able to wipe your device remotely theoretically. It also enforces other security like having to use a PIN or pattern to get into your phone each time. I found that out when I did my update. It really is just enabling stuff that really should have been there all along.

  11. ziggy1016
    Offline

    ziggy1016 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can I be an admin of my own phone? I would like the ability to perform a remote wipe if I ever lose my phone.

    ...or is my company's exchange server admin the only one that has this access? (this is my personal phone that my company allows me to access my work e-mail on)

  12. Hiker5208
    Offline

    Hiker5208 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The exchange server admin would be the only person to do it this way. I think there are some apps out there that would allow the entire device to be wiped remotely if needed by a trigger word text message. Take a look around as I do not remember any specifically.
  13. Snoking
    Offline

    Snoking Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks, that matches the manual update that I did yesterday. Chris
  14. darrick04
    Offline

    darrick04 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Tennessee here, receieved the OTA here at 7:00cst :)
  15. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I still have the FRG22D update sitting on my desk top. I wouldn't wait for an OTA really, this is just a patch. If you do it yourself less chance of something going wrong.
  16. p1ngputts
    Offline

    p1ngputts New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    received the updated this morning
  17. debdroid1a
    Offline

    debdroid1a New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I received the update this morning too.
  18. FunN4Lo
    Offline

    FunN4Lo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I go the update this morning. Went to the market and D/Led Flash. Flash appears to work on a web page, although it is very slow. (I was on my wifi network, laptop is fast)

    There is no icon in my app drawer for Flash. Is that normal?

    If I go to Settings>Applications>Manage Applications , I see an icon there.
  19. TheOldFart
    Offline

    TheOldFart New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York State
    Yes, that is normal. Flash is not an app. It is a plug-in.
  20. Sal
    Offline

    Sal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    D.C.

    If you download the app "Adobe Showcase," you can test out your new flash plug-in with recommendations for sites optimized for flash.
Search tags for this page

ziggy1016