Motorola DROID ... No Notifications, 3G, and such not working!

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by bmxmommie, Jul 27, 2010.

  1. bmxmommie

    bmxmommie New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Makes for a very frustrated woman!

    I got the phone in June. I LOVED it when I first got it. Everything worked great, reception, dialing, 3G, and all my notifications!

    The last 2 weeks have been horrible. My 3g isn't lit up, therefor I can't post on FB, send out or recieve email, and when I do get email coming in I get NO notification, on either of my accounts... GMAIL or YAHOO... And it takes me 20 min to make a phone call, and eventually it dials when it feels like it. I called Verizon and spent 3 hours, yes 3 hours on the phone with customer care/tech support. They couldn't figure out what the heck was going on, so of course they sent out a new phone! I received the 2nd phone, and this one is the same if not worse! I get NO 3g signal, and I get an X over my reception bars etc. And I still can't post to FB or anything! and NO notifications still. I called Verizon again tonight, and they really pissed me off... I did everything he told me to do, factory restore etc, and it still isnt working right. And of course he wanted to send out a new phone again.. ( well refrubished... what BS!) ... im tired of switching phones, and i've only had the phone since June 19. I'm SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO over it...


    if you use yahoo what app do u use? ... does it notify you?? ..

    does anyone else have these issues?!?!?!
     
  2. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    If your phone worked fine when you got it...either you accidentally changed a setting or you installed a rogue app that changed your settings for you or there is a tower down in your area. Does your droid act like this EVERYWHERE? or just from your home?

    Try going to settings>>>wireless & network settings>>>>mobile networks and make sure you have data enabled. Then click on system select and check automatic.

    If all that is good then I'd start uninstalling ALL apps that didn't come stock on your droid to see if it's a bad app.
     
  3. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Get Rid of the Advanced Task Killer and see how things go.
    Task Killers cause problems and do little for saving battery.
     
  4. beavervalley

    beavervalley New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am on my second Droid with VZ sending me a third. The cell connection is terrible, calls get dropped... Have had VZ for 12 years with no coverage issues... This is a great OS with lots of great technology, but the Moto hardware seems to have a reception issue...
     
  5. bmxmommie

    bmxmommie New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've done everything! I've done the factory reset more then once, getting rid of apps etc.
    And all my settings are fine.... and it does this EVERYWHERE! Its so frustrating.. good thing I've had no
    Emergencies and needeed to make a call! I'm going on my 3rd droid as well, and I orginally purchased
    My first one in june !
     
  6. dmacleo

    dmacleo Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    Ratings:
    +0
    you using the same sd card for each new phone?
    if so try a new card.
     
  7. Budarooski

    Budarooski New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you turn on wifi/mobile networks in your settings? If not, you won't get the 3G network. I ran into this last week when I setup my replacement phone for the Droid I dropped and broke. Go to Settings>Location & Security Settings>enable "use wireless networks".
     
  8. mkw87

    mkw87 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    On my third droid as well - this one was a 'like new' replacement. It was not scratched up or anything, but the screen is loose. The entire top half. It slides open VERY easily, and when you tap the left side of the screen it drops 1/16-1/8 inch before bottoming out on the keyboard.

    I'll be going to a vzw store tomorrow and see what they can do for me.
     
  9. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,801
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +11
    I think they will replace it for you. Unfortunately it will be with another refurbished phone but hopefully the next one will be 100 times better.
     
  10. mkw87

    mkw87 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not against refurbs. This phone appears brand new, never used, but it's obvious why someone did not keep it what appears more than a day. It is structurally flawed.
     
  11. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,801
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +11
    I believe you. My husband had to get a refurb and the one they sent him is loose, it opens in his pocket. Its crazy. I would think Verizon could do a little better on the quality control aspect before shipping the refurbs out.

    I am sure they will not give you any trouble though.
     
Search tags for this page
3g and notifications stopped working droid 3
,
3g not working on droid
,
android 3g setting for motorola
,

droid x 3g not working

,
motorola droid not connecting to 3g o2 mobile network
,
motorola droid x 3g not working
,
motorola set up 3g on droid x
,
my droid x will not get 3g
,
setting 3g motorola droid x
,
setup 3g on motorola droid x