Motorola Droid gets Overclocked.

Discussion in 'Android News' started by danDroid, Jan 26, 2010.

  1. danDroid
    Offline

    danDroid DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,353
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    63
    [​IMG]

    The gurus at AllDroid.org have done it again. This time pushing the speed of the Motorola Droid to the limits of 1.1 GHz. The Droid stock runs at 600 Mhz so running nearly twice the speed probably is a Droid health hazard after a period of time. However running the Droid at 800Mhz proved to be quite stable and still provides roughly a 33% boost in performance.

    Follow the ongoing discussion here:
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-hacks/18166-super-overclocking-droid-alldroid.html
  2. Guchi
    Offline

    Guchi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. Phoxus
    Offline

    Phoxus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio / Austin Texas
    He's just putting it in the News.

    <3
  4. justicw
    Offline

    justicw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would LOVE to be able to OC my phone but I don't want to root yet. Is it possable to OC without root? I doubt it but hey it never hurts to ask lol
  5. unix.punkx
    Offline

    unix.punkx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bloomington, IN
    Ahhh thats so tempting!
  6. LrdElderon
    Offline

    LrdElderon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. LrdElderon
    Offline

    LrdElderon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry didn't quite quote that last post quite right i think :icon_eek:
  8. IEatCake
    Offline

    IEatCake New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    +1 while getting a faster clock is a "neat trick" are the any measurements for SAR output levels, heat levels, and power usage?
  9. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    No problems with heat so far (according to the people who did this over at alldroid). With SetCPU profiles on, battery drain really isn't an issue for me at all. If I am loosing any battery life, it is no where near 40-50%...
  10. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    What are you clocked at?
  11. Spydaz
    Offline

    Spydaz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    OK so.. If i Root right now what do i have to download for the OC? Is it the app in the App Store SetCPU?? Is this the right one?
  12. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    You have to flash a new kernel. SetCPU just allows you to control the speed on the cpu.
  13. Spydaz
    Offline

    Spydaz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    And how does one do this?
  14. hacku
    Offline

    hacku New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ.
    Correct me if I'm wrong. I know the Droid comes with a 600Mhz processor, but I thought that in stock form it's actually underclocked and runs at 550Mhz.
  15. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    It is under-clocked (to 550Mhz) by default. The consensus is this was done purely for battery life not for concern over temp or other factors. But that is just the consensus. Moto admitted this but didn't say for sure whether or not their were other concerns the possibly influenced their decision. It's likely going to be a craps shoot like on PCs (i.e. some people can overclock the HE!! out of their PCs with NO issue(s) and others try a simple even a simple OC and fry their chips).

    Should be noted for noobs that modern processors are not 'individually' tested or specked. This means some chips can handle OC very easily (and be highly OC'd) while other will not. So if you decide to OC be sure to go in small increments and test the device thoroughly and not jump straight to a high number).