1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Motorola Droid gets Overclocked.

Discussion in 'Android News' started by danDroid, Jan 26, 2010.

  1. danDroid
    Offline

    danDroid Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    63
    [​IMG]

    The gurus at AllDroid.org have done it again. This time pushing the speed of the Motorola Droid to the limits of 1.1 GHz. The Droid stock runs at 600 Mhz so running nearly twice the speed probably is a Droid health hazard after a period of time. However running the Droid at 800Mhz proved to be quite stable and still provides roughly a 33% boost in performance.

    Follow the ongoing discussion here:
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-hacks/18166-super-overclocking-droid-alldroid.html
  2. Guchi
    Offline

    Guchi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. Phoxus
    Offline

    Phoxus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio / Austin Texas
    He's just putting it in the News.

    <3
  4. justicw
    Offline

    justicw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would LOVE to be able to OC my phone but I don't want to root yet. Is it possable to OC without root? I doubt it but hey it never hurts to ask lol
  5. unix.punkx
    Offline

    unix.punkx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bloomington, IN
    Ahhh thats so tempting!
  6. LrdElderon
    Offline

    LrdElderon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. LrdElderon
    Offline

    LrdElderon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry didn't quite quote that last post quite right i think :icon_eek:
  8. IEatCake
    Offline

    IEatCake New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    +1 while getting a faster clock is a "neat trick" are the any measurements for SAR output levels, heat levels, and power usage?
  9. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    No problems with heat so far (according to the people who did this over at alldroid). With SetCPU profiles on, battery drain really isn't an issue for me at all. If I am loosing any battery life, it is no where near 40-50%...
  10. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    What are you clocked at?
  11. Spydaz
    Offline

    Spydaz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK so.. If i Root right now what do i have to download for the OC? Is it the app in the App Store SetCPU?? Is this the right one?
  12. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    You have to flash a new kernel. SetCPU just allows you to control the speed on the cpu.
  13. Spydaz
    Offline

    Spydaz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And how does one do this?
  14. hacku
    Offline

    hacku New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ.
    Correct me if I'm wrong. I know the Droid comes with a 600Mhz processor, but I thought that in stock form it's actually underclocked and runs at 550Mhz.
  15. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    It is under-clocked (to 550Mhz) by default. The consensus is this was done purely for battery life not for concern over temp or other factors. But that is just the consensus. Moto admitted this but didn't say for sure whether or not their were other concerns the possibly influenced their decision. It's likely going to be a craps shoot like on PCs (i.e. some people can overclock the HE!! out of their PCs with NO issue(s) and others try a simple even a simple OC and fry their chips).

    Should be noted for noobs that modern processors are not 'individually' tested or specked. This means some chips can handle OC very easily (and be highly OC'd) while other will not. So if you decide to OC be sure to go in small increments and test the device thoroughly and not jump straight to a high number).
  16. 1033
    Offline

    1033 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im pretty sure i7 processors (quite modern) are individually tested, and if they pass they're clocked in to see when they fail. If they work under normal conditions they get the 920 stamp, if they work overclocked maybe 1ghz higher they get the 940 stamp. Now if they can raise the clock up fairly high, and the tempature doesn't exceed some certain threshold they know it made it though the FAB process perfect and the multiplier can be unlocked.

    this is from wikipedia:
    for intel they just make it a 920 or 940 to improve their yields... and make the EE $1000 to compensate. When they all went through the same manufacturing process.
  17. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Processors are tested individually while they are still on the wafer before being cut into individual dies (a process called 'wafer sort testing'). But this testing is only a test to make sure the processor handles basic calculations correctly. While certain processor lines (like you i7 example, which is a completely different class of processor) may be further tested for actual clock speeds (and in RARE cases overclocking potential) it is not standard for most processors. And even then processors are not 'individually' tested. One processor per wafer (or sometimes per batch) is tested and based on it's performance the remaining processors are labeled/sorted accordingly. This is way you can have such great variances in the over-clocking potentials seemingly identical chips.

    On a different note I found this on the ARM site:
    ARM Cortex-A8 - ARM Processor

    Of particular interest:
    "With the ability to scale in speed from 600MHz to greater than 1GHz, the Cortex-A8 processor can meet the requirements for power-optimized mobile devices needing operation in less than 300mW"

    So I wonder if these over-clocking kernels/drivers for the Droid are actually over-clocking the CPU or simply changing the scaling architecture??
  18. cb2000a
    Offline

    cb2000a New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Max speed reached was 1.3 ghz. Not recommended though.
  19. jucytec
    Offline

    jucytec New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been overclocking since the Intel OverDrive days... While I'm certain that Intel CPUs do undergo some testing, I can assure you they don't OVERCLOCK their chips prior to leaving the their manufacturing facility. At most the i7 920/940 chips would be tested under stress in their supported turbo mode in a Sample Batch of some sort. They rest would probably be inspected visually by some advance computer scans which would detect anomalies at the wafer level. Turbo mode just allows the clock MULTIPLIER to be up by 1x. This is different then upping the clock frequency, which is the more common overclocking terminology. For example, an i7 runs at 133MHz clock x 20 multiplier = 2660MHz in turbo mode is x21 which would equate 2793MHz My system at home is running 171MHz x 21 @ 3591MHz Overclocking usually requires a LOT more power (as high as 1.375v for i7 from the stock 1.2), and results in heat related failures if the CPU's not properly cooled. The Extreme Edition that someone mentioned allows the multiplier to go up to 24... which is bad a$$, but not too many of consumers can spare 1000$ on a CPU. ARM Cortex A8 is a different story tho, it uses around the same voltage, a little lower, 1.2v or LESS but it is NOT computing the same number of calculations. also according to the ARM Cortex-A8 spec, it can actually run 1100MHz, and according to the little chart on the bottom, 1100MHz manages to use 1v using Dynamic Power. IF they the chip was set at 550MHz for longer standby time, then using SETCPU to set the ARM Chip at 125MHz would make it run Possibly even longer than stock while being overclocked. There are other information on the Web about leakage controls which explains the relationship of power/performance gains/loss. If you follow the thread on Alldroid, you'll see that some people are reporting LONGER battery life on 1GHz OC. I've been at 1GHz as well for a few days now, EVERYTHING is stable AND I had hard time draining the battery with regular/some-what-heavy use. I'm loving it so far...
  20. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    ? for you OverClockers

    Are you all using cases (Seidio, BodyGlove ect) or running naked?? Was wondering if cases seam to have any affect on the temp.