Motorola Droid 2 Voice Command Bug Discovered

Discussion in 'Android News' started by danDroid, Oct 15, 2010.

  1. danDroid

    danDroid DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    154
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Ratings:
    +157

    Motorola has had their hands full swatting recently discovered Droid X froyo bugs, but we haven't heard of many issues surrounding the Droid 2. Today, BoyGeniusReport was tipped off with a strange security flaw that might be a tab bit concerning. While the phone is in the lock state and waiting for a password to be entered, pressing down the search softkey for four seconds and announcing a voice command will send your Droid 2 into "does mode" performing the voice request. Weird eh? Check out the video above and let us know your thoughts.. Big Deal or No Big Deal?

    Edit JohnDroid: Just confirmed this as working on my phone as well. Don't think it's a huge security issue IMHO.

    Source: Motorola DROID 2 security flaw allows Voice Actions from passcode-protected state Boy Genius Report)
     
  2. Code Money

    Code Money New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Francisco, Bay Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not A Deal Breaker

    This is just one of the many exploits/dysfunctions of owning a smartphone. This type of thing kind of comes with the territory of owning "new" technology. I'm sure it will be fixed in some future Froyo update. From a security breach perspective, its no big deal really. At least it's not an antenna issue. lol
     
  3. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,013
    Likes Received:
    310
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +374
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    That's a big problem, but it's not a deal breaker, especially since the fix should be forthcoming shortly.

    Business users beware, however.
     
  4. johnomaz

    johnomaz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    400
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Central Valley, California
    Ratings:
    +438
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Anyone else notice he was using an iPhone 4 to record with.
     
  5. johnomaz

    johnomaz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    400
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Central Valley, California
    Ratings:
    +438
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    [​IMG]
     
  6. ggtus

    ggtus Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    the calling may not seem like a big deal to some, but they basically have a phone now. and what about the "Go To" function. they can access the internet from your phone.
     
  7. johntkong

    johntkong New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This may just be the hard key shortcut for placing an emergency call while in lock mode.
     
  8. johntkong

    johntkong New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    And I just went back to watch the video... tsk tsk.
     
  9. barakaspeed

    barakaspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. droidman101

    droidman101 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    not even close to a security flaw imo, it would be as much as doing an emergency call, sure someone could send texts out to everyone and all but theyd need the names of the people to do so, etc. Now, i dont know about you, but none of my enemies who would be able to do this because they know my friends will ever know about this bug, until this iphone fanboy site(bgr, look at what the people ahead of me posted for proof) reported it.
     
Search tags for this page

how do i disable please say a command on my droid 2