Motorola can't even get my 4th DROID WORKING!

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Foreverrr, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. Foreverrr

    Foreverrr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright, this is getting pathetic. I'm on my 4th droid right now, and i can't even unlock it. I've had this one for about a month and a half after my first 3 have had keyboards all ripped up when i got them.

    The one i have no simply doesn't let me unlock the phone, I wake the screen up, and slide my finger across to unlock it, but absolutely NOTHING happens! The only way i've got it to work is to do a battery pull. At first it just did it maybe once or twice a day, and the last week it's been doing it more, maybe 8-12 times a day. Today it did it over 15 times, and now doing a battery pull doesn't work AT ALL.

    I've called Verizon this morning, and they offered me 3 awful phones i could pick from, the Devour (yeah, right) LG Ally (no way!) and the droid eris. (gross.). I then asked Verizon when they think the Incredible and/or the X would be up on the pre-owned list. They said at LEAST another month. They offered to send me another droid. they then said that 2.2 is rolling out and said if I get lucky, the phone could unlock and i could update to 2.2 to see if that would make any difference.

    Nope. 2.2 made absolutely no difference to the screen freezing up. I read on another thread that Verizon offered somebody an Incredible because he was on his like 6th droid. How come they're not offering me an Incredible?

    What i'm trying to say is, do i just have bad luck? How come I'm not offered an different phone that's not on that specific list like that other person did?

    Note: I've been asked if i have hundreds of applications on my phone..No i do not, i probably have 20-25, and most of them are well-known; like LauncherPro, Where, Pandora, etc. And Yes, i use a task killer to try and free up my memory. It still doesn't work.
     
  2. iPirate

    iPirate Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    maybe the task killer is messing things up?

    did you try not installing any apps for a few days and see how things go?
     
  3. Foreverrr

    Foreverrr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't even get into my phone, I have advanced free task killer installed.
     
  4. Googleaddict

    Googleaddict Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you rooted? And did you try wiping your phone?
     
  5. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    I agree, the task killer is unnecessary and may be causing the problem. Something else to try is take the SD card out of the phone and reboot without the memory card installed. See if it makes any difference. I've noticed my phone lags severely when it first boots up and is mounting the SD card. Perhaps you have a corrupted file/filesystem on your memory card.
     
  6. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm guessing you have been transferring the same memory card from Droid 1 through the present one you have now.
     
  7. Foreverrr

    Foreverrr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not rooted, and i've done a factory reset already. It worked for a few hours, but then it started freezing again.
     
  8. Googleaddict

    Googleaddict Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmm..Maybe it's an app or apps that are causing the problem. Try leaving the phone without any 3rd party apps for a few hours and see if that helps.
     
  9. Foreverrr

    Foreverrr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That seemed to work, but now do you have any idea how I can find what's causing the problem?
     
  10. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    On Blackberrys, most of the time it just took moving all your files off the card to your computer, format the card in the phone, then move your files back to your card in groups (directories) and test for a while to see if those files were bad.

    Most times the reformat solves the problem, which points to a corrupted FAT (file allocation table).
     
  11. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    You could also try running a disk/file checking utility if you have one on your card mounted as a USB drive.

    I've actually run a defrag utility on my SD card. Just for kicks. :cool:
     
  12. Foreverrr

    Foreverrr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you mean?
     
Search tags for this page

im on my 4th droid 3