Motorola and Intel Debut the RAZR i with 'Edge-to-Edge' Display and Intel Inside

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Sep 18, 2012.

  1. dgstorm

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7,813
    Likes Received:
    1,749
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,784

    Do you guys remember the "Intel Inside" marketing campaign from Chipzilla? Well, it looks like Intel can now add the Motorola RAZR to their lineup of devices that can use that old slogan. Motorola just officially announced their newest offering. It is called the RAZR i, and we suppose that "i" stands for Intel, because that's the chip that's powering it. The only pricing and availability we have so far is not for North America. Reports indicate that the device will come to the UK, France, Germany and Brazil first. We don't have any specifics yet, except that Clove in the UK will have it on October 1st for a SIM-free price of £342 ($555). Of course, we will keep you apprised when we find out more. Below is a list of specs, followed by the full press release,
    • 4.3-inch edge to edge qHD (960 x 540) display
    • 2GHz Intel CPU
    • 1GB of RAM
    • 8MP rear camera
    • VGA front camera
    • 8GB of storage
    • GPS, WiFi, & Bluetooth 4.0
    • NFC
    • Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich (although it is confirmed to be upgradeable to Android 4.1 Jelly Bean)
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2012
  2. liftedplane

    liftedplane Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Washington State
    Ratings:
    +141
    I HATE YOU MOTOROLA!!!! just when I think you can't do it... you go and add a damn camera button back onto a sexy looking device... why motorola, stop playing games with my heart.:mad:
     
  3. tjk629

    tjk629 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,035
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +65
    Would anyone be surprised if Apple went after them for using a lower case i?

    I'll be interested to see how this phone does.
     
  4. nickb34

    nickb34 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'll assume they're working on an LTE version for the U.S. Until then, it's not a worthy phone.
     
  5. The Robot Cow

    The Robot Cow Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +1
    Am i the only one kinda ticked that we're not getting this in the usa? I wonder if there's one in the works already?

    Hmm... makes me wonder if an intel powered droid nexus in the works? Maybe i'm just being a bit too optimistic lol
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2012
  6. AuxiliaryPie

    AuxiliaryPie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    qHD?!? come on moto, you're back to your old ways. Herp Derp heres 4 new RAZR's on top of the 3 already on VZW and the other 2 on AT&T and Sprint

    everyone needs to follow Google, Apple and Sammy..just 1 or 2 phones at a time, please
     
  7. simiangrudge

    simiangrudge New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fast cpu but only 1g memory. QHD. 'Upgradable' to JB - just like the Bionic was 'ICS ready'. Now picture it in the US loaded down with a bunch of locked in VZW bloat that runs on boot. And probably a slower cpu for more battery life. Meh.
     
  8. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,361
    Likes Received:
    1,617
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,656
    any time motorola would like to catch up with the rest of the world (minus apple) and make 2 gigs of ram standard in a high end smart phone will be alright with me.
     
  9. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    248
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +248
    Current Phone Model:
    GNote2
    Yea, back to a 4.3 inch qhd? Fail.
     
  10. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,361
    Likes Received:
    1,617
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,656
     
  11. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,361
    Likes Received:
    1,617
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,656
     
  12. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,361
    Likes Received:
    1,617
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,656
    did i see lag when he went to flip the clock widget?
     
  13. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,361
    Likes Received:
    1,617
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,656

    Thank you verge for being the first vid to actually navigate through the device so we could see the intel chip in action. :hail:
     
  14. stillwaiting

    stillwaiting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    excuse my ignorance but what exactly is the dis/advantage of intel vs arm?
     
  15. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,361
    Likes Received:
    1,617
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,656
    really at this point in time not really anything. Intel theoretically will be more efficient and offer more power. It will me matching power with motorola's hardware and google's ever changing software that will be an issue. Because of that I expect the razr i will be slower (than normal) to receive updates..hence another reason why it would not do well in the states at this point in time.
     
Search tags for this page

razr i

,
why does my razr i display show intel inside , locked