MotoDroid 1 Previously Rooted But Now Not?

Discussion in 'Droid Rooted Help' started by BAD2RAD, Feb 3, 2011.

  1. BAD2RAD
    Offline

    BAD2RAD New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    I have a Motorola Droid 1 and it currently has 2.2.1 with FRG83D

    Before this last OTA update I had it rooted but since the OTA update, it doesnt seem to be rooted. I have read plenty about how that OTA took away the root access on a lot of phones and have seen where people have the options to try to revert it back to 2.2 FRG22D and reroot and all. Well, even with me having the 2.2.1 with FRG83D, I still have the SuperUser icon, but no Superuser access. Any application that requires permission doesnt get it because I dont get the pop up that supposed to pop up to give the permission it needs to work.

    I have tried z4root from the phone (the app) to unroot and reroot but nothing happens. It slows the phone down for a few seconds and thats it and even after powercycling or taking the battery straight out while powered on, it still isnt rooted because any application that needs that permission still isnt asking for it. I have also tried SuperOneClick (or something like that) to unroot and root it and all and still nothing happens after doing all of the above.

    If you can help me out with this, it would be great. I have done the research but not coming up with anything. I want to get it rooted so I can get the hotspot thing to work on it. If its possible, I want to unroot it and then reroot it and still have FRG83D 2.2.1 version and be able to do the hotspot and other root-requiring apps. I do understand if it isnt possible and have to run an older version or build. Just seeing if possible and letting you know what I want done. Thanks for your help in advance! It is appreciated!
  2. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. h_10
    Offline

    h_10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have a question.

    if you are rooted and have an alternate recovery installed (ie clockworkmod) how can an OTA be pushed to your phone?
  4. BAD2RAD
    Offline

    BAD2RAD New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    I will try that and see if it works ... thank you

    I never said I had an alternate recovery installed on my phone ... i had like clockworkmod installed but i never understood it so i uninstalled it
  5. h_10
    Offline

    h_10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok then i think that's how you got the OTA. my understanding is that if you have cwm or sprecovery installed, then it will block any ota.
  6. BAD2RAD
    Offline

    BAD2RAD New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Once I get the root issue resolved, I will definitely have one of those installed. Have to find of get some info about it though because I could never get it to work and didnt really understand what I was looking at with it. I do now remember that when the first OTA was sent out after I got my phone that I didnt get it but the second one I did and I dont think I had CWM installed at that time. Thanks for the info!
  7. mr_silent
    Offline

    mr_silent New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Error: 420

    Bad advice...
  8. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, you NEVER want to run the stock recovery with a rooted phone if you don't want to lose your root access. The reason the custom recoveries block the OTAs is that you explicitly need to ALLOW update.zip files to install; by default they are blocked. So the phone will download the update, reboot into the custom recovery, and TRY to install the update. But since they are disabled by default, it will throw an error and boot back into the version you were running. The phone will think you have successfully installed it, so it won't bug you any more.

    If you re-root using the method I linked, it will also modify a file on the phone so it shouldn't even try to download the update in the first place.
  9. mr_silent
    Offline

    mr_silent New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    I think he/she is wanting to keep the ota firmware and then root.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  10. BAD2RAD
    Offline

    BAD2RAD New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Yes, I would like to keep it if possible.
  11. BAD2RAD
    Offline

    BAD2RAD New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ok I am on the step in RSD Lite where i see my device and have selected the SBF file selected but the start button is greyed out. Did I do something wrong?
  12. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    There's a few tricks in that thread to fix your problem (I'm not about to re-read all 150 pages again, as I do almost everytime I visit it), but did you extract the file so that it has a .sbf extension? Also, I _think_ you can try by putting the .sbrf file somewhere like "c:\" on your computer.

    good luck
  13. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    If I may clarify. The main thing that 'blocks' an OTA update is what is contained within the build.prop file on the phone. If certain values there 'seem' to be older than those contained within the OTA, then the OTA will be pushed to the phone. And then to further clarify, CWRecovery _seems_ to go ahead and allow these to be installed to the phone, while SPRecovery will (once you accept and try to install) fail.
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2011
  14. BAD2RAD
    Offline

    BAD2RAD New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Here is what I am getting ... i have checked the box and is being run as administrator ... i have put the sbf file in Documents ... Start button is still grayed out ... here is a screenshot of what i am seeing
  15. mr_silent
    Offline

    mr_silent New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    I understand bro, any help you can offer these guys is great, I wrote "busy box, I believe" as to imply my uncertainty on it. As for androot I guess I'm the only one who's got it working.
    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  16. mr_silent
    Offline

    mr_silent New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Okay, my apologies again for the earlier post, but after some research I've found something here that may be a solution:
    http://www.google.com/reader/m/view...fault?c=CNLI0dbooqMC&i=569110915521467448&n=1
    Also check out some of these files, if your rooted, you'll need the odexed zip files.
    http://www.peteralfonso.com/p/downloads.html
    Notice the ESE81 for sprecovery, you may be able to unroot once you flash this. If so then go to the about phone and see if you can get the ota update back onto FRG01B. I sincerely hope this works for you. Also I've used the frg83D odexed zip before while rooted with custom recovery and it worked with no problems at all. However I'm not sure you'll be able to get the ota update via this method but its pretty much exactly the same as the official release.
    Not sure why you want an official firmware but I suspect that you are trying to maintain your warranty, correct?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  17. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Everyone:

    DO NOT FLASH ESE81_RECOVERY_ONLY

    This will further bork your phone if it already has froyo on it.

    BAD2RAD:

    RSD sees the phone so thats good.

    You need to put the sbf in a shorter directory or just in C:\

    Good luck.
  18. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    +1^^^this!!

    Again, I must warn against this path, as guidot pointed out. And BAD2RAD is not having any troubles with updating, his/her phone already has the latest OTA update installed and now wants to reroot the phone. There is just having a problem getting RSD Lite to 'start' the flash of the proper .sbf file.

    The SPRecovery_ESE81.sbf file will ALMOST brick the phone, and will in no way help in unrooting it and should NOT be used on any phone NOT showing ESE81 in menu -> settings -> about phone.
  19. BAD2RAD
    Offline

    BAD2RAD New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ok I put the sbf directly into C:\ ... still start button isnt working ... i have even uninstalled and reinstalled RSD Lite ... restarted computer ... i am not available to uninstall and reinstall Super User either ... its grayed out in applications under settings ... said uninstall not successful if i try to do it thru Applanet ... my uninstaller doesnt even see the app on my phone at all ... nothing seems to be working ...

    and for future reference ... i am a guy ^_^
  20. mr_silent
    Offline

    mr_silent New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    How is flashing an earlier firmware gonna "almost brick the phone".?If he does this using the rsd lite files on petes site, he can root while on 2.1 with a one click root application. Then using the other odexed.zip via custom recovery to get back on 2.2.1.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
Search tags for this page

download superuser binary su ak