Motoblur

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X2' started by grgguy, May 20, 2011.

  1. grgguy

    grgguy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +2
    Got my DX2 today from Best Buy . I had the D1 , now i see what all the fuss was about with the MotoBlur .Its going to take some getting used to.
     
  2. cloudstrife05

    cloudstrife05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Is it that bad?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  3. music life

    music life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Va beach
    Ratings:
    +6
    i think the new motoblur is actually pretty nice. i played with it today in the store and its not bad.

    my opinion of course
     
  4. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeah I also heard gb blur is nice. I'm going to try it soon but i'm still loving by liberty 2.0.1

    From my Liberated DROID2 at 1.25ghz
     
  5. grgguy

    grgguy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +2
    Maybe it's not the blur but I can tell the ammount of preloaded apps is double than was on the D1
     
  6. Anticitizen

    Anticitizen Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    All you need to do is install LauncherPro, ADW, or whatever alternative launcher you prefer, and you can make it look/feel however you want.
     
  7. Raptor007

    Raptor007 Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    Root and remove the bloat. That is the first thing that I always have to do. I was going to get the DX2, but have decided to wait and see what the D3 comes in specs/price and then make a decision. I like the DX2 screen size etc but really like a physical keyboard as well. Too bad you can't have two phones with the same number and swap between them without having to go online and swap devices around.
     
  8. lyndamarlena

    lyndamarlena New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Hampton, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    newbie here so the above is a foreign language so have no clue how to root etc but i get my DX2 today and i also had the OG droid so if it comes with more preinstalled stuff i definitely do not want the extra bloat...any help on what i need to do when i get it to resolve that for me?

    Thanks
     
  9. cece5702

    cece5702 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    911
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Okay for the sake of not sounding stupid, Can you explain to me what Motoblur is exactly? I keep hearing folks talk about it.
     
  10. cutiedroid

    cutiedroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thot you were suppose to use Titanium after you rooted your device to help you get rid of, or freeze, the bloatware, not totally remove it.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  11. cutiedroid

    cutiedroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nearest I can figure it's the user interface, or the IU. But I always wondered that myself.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  12. matt2783

    matt2783 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is a UI overlay that Moto puts on their phones. It changes the way the phone looks and feels and does some stuff that people don't always care for, like sync your facebook contacts with your phone contacts. A lot of people also believe it slows down their phone.
     
  13. DroidBurgundy

    DroidBurgundy Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1

    QFT

    Be that as it may, many people still find it annoying that that is a needed step to have the look and functionality they want in their device. I hated blur with a passion, although I will admit that gingerblur has been quite usable and a welcome break from LPP
     
  14. lyndamarlena

    lyndamarlena New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Hampton, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks Matt for the info, learning more slowly but surely
     
Search tags for this page
disable motoblur
,
disable motoblur droid x2
,
droid 3 remove motoblur
,
droid x2 iblur
,
droid x2 remove blur
,

droid x2 remove motoblur

,
how to disable motoblur on driod x2
,
motoblur
,
no motoblur on droid x2
,

remove motoblur droid x2