Motoblur? Keep it or not?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by fracas, Sep 27, 2011.

  1. fracas
    Offline

    fracas New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Italy
    Im a new owner of a d2g and this is my first motorola's phone.
    I ve read something about motoblur and someone says its not a good UI because its heavy and slow.. is it true? Can I remove it?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk
  2. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    The easiest thing to do, assuming you decide you don't like it, is switch to one of the alternate launchers in the market. The most popular ones are Launcher Pro, ADW, Go Launcher, Zeam, etc.

    good luck.
  3. Byakushiki
    Offline

    Byakushiki New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Usea
    Whether it is slow and heavy to use, is for you to decide. I think motoblur is plenty fine as long as you're on 4.5.607/606. It does have a habit of eating up all your memory but that's actually fine, because that's what keeps everything visually smooth.
  4. fracas
    Offline

    fracas New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Italy
    Thanks for your replies.. Is there a specific way to remove Motoblur or i just have to install a new launcher?
  5. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    On my new rooted Bionic, I just installed a new launcher (Go Launcher).

    Good luck.
  6. Byakushiki
    Offline

    Byakushiki New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Usea
    You can install the launcher or try a custom rom, if you're willing to root. Custom roms generally get rid of most of the blur framework, replacing it with mostly AOSP components(stock android).
  7. EOK1335
    Offline

    EOK1335 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you dont have to remove the blur launcher if you have another launcher installed. but if you really wanna get rid of it, just go to /system/app and delete the home.apk after rooted.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL
  8. silver6054
    Offline

    silver6054 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This might prevent you getting future updates. Just rename it, and, if and when a new over the air update is offered, rename it back before installing the update.
  9. leobg
    Offline

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    ... and will cause issues if you factory reset the phone. If you delete home.apk you will either have to SBF or use car/desk stand to go around missing launcher, enable ADB and put it back on. Unnecessary pain IMO. If you install 3rd party launcher MotoBlur home does not load in memory and does not consume resources.
    If you switch to different launcher, most Moto widgets will not work. Some people find those useful. Your call.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk
  10. William_04_x
    Offline

    William_04_x Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I really like GO Launcher with unrooted 607. Lot's of options to customize, and it works smooth and fast. The Motorola widgets aren't an available option with GO.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  11. Jonas
    Offline

    Jonas New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Go launcher has been my launcher for a long time, and before that I was very keen on launcher pro. Both are good options, but Go Launcher fits my personal needs better. I would not recommend ever deleting a stock .apk, unless you have a nandroid backup (root required). It can be fixed, but its such a pain, when you can do a simple rename, or freeze if its bloatware. If you need/want screenshots of what I'm running, I can certianly post them for you.
  12. Stefan82
    Offline

    Stefan82 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone agree that GO Launcher is like a ROM but in launcher or home app style. Have not seen a close launcher yet.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL (rooted) using DroidForums
  13. The Robot Cow
    Offline

    The Robot Cow New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    I like the new blur that motorola has come up with. There is a way to update the phone to gb without being rooted.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
Search tags for this page
blur removed rom
,

disable motoblur

,
disable motorola blur on droid x
,
how do you remove motoblur
,
how to disable motoblur
,

how to remove motoblur from razr

,
how to turn motoblur off on razr hd
,
how to uninstall motoblur on droid
,
razor maxx disable motoblur
,
razr disable motoblur
,
remove motoblur
,

remove motoblur droid 3

,
remove motoblur from droidx2
,

remove motoblur from razr

,
uninstalling motoblur