Moto Phone Portal - Droid to PC Media Sync(and More) via WiFi

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by 928Droid, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. brucin

    brucin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    north jersey
    Ratings:
    +3
    I could not get IE 8 to access the phone. When I switched to Chrome it worked fine. Pretty cool app.
     
  2. lschmitt

    lschmitt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just downloaded and tried out this app. It's pretty sweet. I like that you can open up bookmarks from your phone through your computer, sort of like being able to carry your bookmarks with you. Being able to change settings such as wallpapers and ring tones is nice too. The only thing that I don't get is why do you really need this app? I guess the best thing would be to transfer your pictures to your computer but there is no way to sync them all at once, only one at a time.

    I'm not knocking this app, just giving my opinion. I plan on playing around with it a little more to see what I can all do.

    Thanks for the heads-up!!
     
  3. Nick177th

    Nick177th Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I figured it out Marc. Thanks for your reply. I was thinking that since the file was saved to the SD card that it would try to "run" from the SD card. I d/l'd astro and it installed it and it runs perfectly. Thanks again.
     
  4. lschmitt

    lschmitt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    You don't need to unzip it on your computer. All you need to do it place it on the root folder of your phones SD card (you need to save it with .zip at the end unless your on Vista/7). Open up Astro File Manager, go to the Home folder (this is your root folder) and click on the .zip file you saved to open the app. Click on it again, then hit "Open App Manager." You should see an install button after this. You need to make sure you have allowed unknown sources to install on your phone. This is done under Settings>Applications>check box labeled "Unknown Sources."
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2010
  5. Nick177th

    Nick177th Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got it. Thanks.
     
  6. SnoDrtRider

    SnoDrtRider Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Jersey & Tug Hill, New York
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just got this working... Pretty cool.

    The key is to have ASTRO file manager... until I downloaded it the phone kept telling me the file was parsed. I installed ASTRO from the market and I was able to open the file that I E-mailed to the phone previously.

    THANKS!
     
  7. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    howdy ya'll. i just tried to do this via ischmitt's instructions and astro was telling me the folder was empty. so i mounted my droid and kept getting an error saying insert disk when i clicked on ANYTHING on my sdcard. i deleted the file thru astro. i redownloaded it to my computer to try and unzip it from there and even that says there is nothing to extract. can someone check that and see if they get the same thing?
     
  8. StepDroid

    StepDroid Official DF Vendor Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa ROLL TIDE, AL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great find.. I wonder why they didn't release this earlier or with the phone
     
  9. Tapoore

    Tapoore New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone else having trouble transferring large files? I have been trying to transfer a mp4 movie to my droid and every time I try it, it just ends up hanging right at the end. It complains about losing the network connection to the droid... Other than that- great app. It's a real shame that MOTO never finished this.
     
  10. revsdj

    revsdj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Rockland, ME
    Ratings:
    +0
    Moto phone portal

    Hey all,
    Just joined the forum and discovered this app because of a survey. I have a total idiot question: What do I use for my User ID/Password for the site/phone link on my pc? I haven't figured out yet what UserId/Pswd I am supposed to be using to access my phone via the pc. Is it something i have to register for at Motorola?
    SDJ
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2010
  11. Sal R.

    Sal R. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    sound awesome.cant wait to try it out.
     
  12. SwordOfWar

    SwordOfWar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can this be used to stream a movie from my droid to the pc? That is the only thing I would use it for.

    WaveSecure has backup/restore for logs, messages and pictures/videos...

    For those on windows that said it needs IE to work correctly, you can help ease the pain by installing the "IE Tab" add-on for firefox. Basically it uses IE to open a page inside firefox, and gives you an icon for fast switching between using IE or firefox for that specific tab.

    At least that way you don't have to leave the firefox window to get the compatiblity for this.
     
  13. listenman20

    listenman20 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    from the app menu you can set up a login and password for security purposes....i assume so that if you're using this at a hotspot or internet cafe.
     
  14. 928Droid

    928Droid Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Western North Carolina Mountains
    Ratings:
    +0
  15. nthanh61

    nthanh61 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, it is. I have a Milestone and I have reset it a few times and the app is always there when I reboot.
    Btw, I have a Milestone but I am in the US. :)
     
Search tags for this page

moto phone portal

,
moto phone portal apk
,
moto phone portal download
,
moto phone portal download for pc
,
moto phone portal home page
,
moto portal
,
motorola phone portal
,
motorola phone portal apk
,
motorola phone portal download
,
what is moto phone portal used for