Moto G7 Play wont perform internet speed tests

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Dirt Nelson, Jan 10, 2020.

  1. Dirt Nelson

    Dirt Nelson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto G7 Play
    Hello all.
    My Moto G7 Play wont perform internet speed tests correctly. When I perform speed tests the tests wont tell me what speed my internet is. I have a Samsung and the speed tests work perfectly on it. Confusion has set in.
    Does anyone know what Im doing wrong and how to fix this, Please?

    Thanks!
    Dirt

     
  2. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15,929
    Likes Received:
    12,786
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +13,348
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 4XL
    What app are you using? Moto G phones don't have apps like that built-in. Are you using the same Play Store speed test app on both phones?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Dirt Nelson

    Dirt Nelson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto G7 Play
    Hi Sajo.
    1st, thanks for the welcome!

    I am using Speed Test by Ookla, and the Spectrum speed test on both phones.
     
  4. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15,929
    Likes Received:
    12,786
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +13,348
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 4XL
    There is no reason I know of that the app would not work on a Moto G7.

    Sent from my moto z4 using Tapatalk
     
  5. Dirt Nelson

    Dirt Nelson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto G7 Play
    I know, right? Thats what I was thinking. I cant figgure it out. Bummer.
    Thanks Sajo!
     
  6. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15,929
    Likes Received:
    12,786
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +13,348
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 4XL
    Is it displaying any errors or messages when trying to run a speed test?

    Sent from my moto z4 using Tapatalk
     
  7. Dirt Nelson

    Dirt Nelson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto G7 Play
    No none at all it is just not registering the proper speed.
     
  8. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15,929
    Likes Received:
    12,786
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +13,348
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 4XL
    It's not registering the correct speed, or no data at all? Can you post a screenshot of what happens when running on your G7?

    Sent from my moto z4 using Tapatalk
     
  9. prime

    prime Kernel Developer
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,936
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +74
    The WiFi chipset in the G7 isn't very good, if I'm not mistaken it's limited to 150 Mbps. It's one of the reasons I returned mine and went with a Z3, the other was I couldn't stand the screen cutout.