Moto Droid ver 2.0.1 with root but want newer ROM

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by sdixon747, Nov 6, 2010.

  1. sdixon747

    sdixon747 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Motorola Droid that I rooted back when it was stock 2.0.1. I want to upgrade to a newer ROM like the latest BB. My question is, do I need to unroot, get the Verizon OTA 2.2, then re-root, then install BB? Or can I just do a ClockworkMod wipe data/factory reset which just takes me back to DroidMod 2.0.1 still rooted.

    Thanks
    Steve
     
  2. droidman101

    droidman101 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    flash clockworkmod, then wipe data/cache and install the new bb
     
  3. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow. Still on 2.0.1? That's crazy. Weren't you getting spammed with the 2.1 and later 2.2 update notifications?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  4. jaw4bama

    jaw4bama Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    2.0.1 wow, just wow. You will be blown away with froyo then!:icon_ banana:
     
  5. sdixon747

    sdixon747 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know, I'm a little late to the party. I rooted with DroidMod before 2.1 came out. When 2.1 did come out, I heard that "root" wasn't available yet. Then when root did become available, I heard that I would have to go back to stock unrooted 2.0.1, upgrade to 2.1, then root again. My phone was working fine, so I didn't feel like messing with it. I figured I would wait for DroidMod to come up with their new version, but it doesn't look like that's happening soon.

    If it's as simple as Backup, wipe data/cache, flash new ROM, then that's what I will do.

    Thanks
    Steve
     
  6. ZeroBarrier

    ZeroBarrier Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, that's only true if you have a custom recovery image (SPRecovery or ClockworkMod). People forget that installing SU to get root permission and custom recovery images are two different things. You can have a custom recovery image and not have SU installed, but your phone is still rooted (at phone level), but if you install SU (using easy root or some other method) and don't have a custom recovery image, then your phone isn't really rooted, it just has root permissions (at OS level).
     
  7. bendystrawboy

    bendystrawboy Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2