MOTO Droid OTA!---Need Support

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Micah, Aug 26, 2010.

  1. Micah

    Micah New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    East TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    MOTO Droid OTA screwed up phone...go figure

    I have a rooted droid, that has been on kangerade blueberry...i reverted this morning to bugless beast and now an OTA update from Verizon, is trying to update...if you do not want this DO NOT revert to a prior ROM. POST REPLYS
     
    #1 Micah, Aug 26, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2010
  2. wricks

    wricks Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Burlington, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    The OTA update should download no matter what ROM you're running. Since you are rooted, you're recovery (either SPR or Clockwork) will block the install.

    I got this:

    [​IMG]

    but since I was already running a 2.2 ROM (Simply Stunning) the install failed.
     
  3. Micah

    Micah New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    East TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    I now have a pretty much brocked phone, apparently the download did not in fact fail and tried to override. Now i have no ROM at all.Called verizon, they said they were going to over night me a droid, now i just have to make sure that it cant be proven that i rooted my now bricked droid.
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    OP, are you able to boot into recovery? If so, you should be able to restore a backup.
     
  5. Micah

    Micah New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    East TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    no recover..no SPRecovery OR the recovery mode that comes standard DROID...The only thing the phone does, is turn on, and force close everything.The only thing on the screen besides this is the notification bar.Other than this nothing is on the screen.
     
  6. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you ever try RSD Lite? Read up on box options 1 and 5, and only after doing so download the files and attempt to reflash your phone.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad-guides/39254-sbf-root-unroot.html

    Then you should be able to update to android 2.2 and reroot following this guide bellow.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad-guides/74028-root-droid-1-regardless-os-version.html

    This should get you back to running Android 2.2 rooted with SPRecovery, SU privileges and the superuser app in the app drawer. After this you can move on to whatever you want.

    If you want to continue running BB v0.4, then someone on it will need to chime in on how to stop the OTA. Could be as simple as deleting an .apk in the /system, or actually flashing a file to the phone, I don't honestly know.

    Now back to my school work... :/
     
  7. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Link 2 in my sig, option 1 then 5, then download and install the OTA, then Link 3 in my sig to root it and use SPR to install a custom Rom or backup.

    Edit: Tank beat me to it!
     
  8. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    You got to be fast to beat me ;)

    New guy.
     
  9. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    To stop OTA prompts on BB 0.4, taken from http://www.peteralfonso.com/2010/08/how-to-stop-ota-notifications-on.html#more

    1. Download stopota.zip
    2. Place on sdcard (rename to update.zip if using SPRecovery)
    3. Reboot into recovery mode
    4. Choose and install stopota.zip (do not wipe data or cache)
    5. Reboot
     
  10. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'll rember that in the future

    Young guy. :)
     
  11. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Touché....
     
  12. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Micah, I sent a PM to some of the other members of the rescue squad. As you can read, they responded quickly. And as you can also read, we have a lot of fun and wonderful senses of humor.

    Thanks to Tallica and Tanknspank for the help.

    Let us know how you resolve.

    Mike