Moto DROID and data package

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by xazilizax, Sep 27, 2010.

  1. xazilizax

    xazilizax New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a 2 yr contract with Verizon. I don't want to pay $100 anymore for my plan. I want to keep my DROID because I love it. If I could remove the data package, I would be satisfied. Verizon told me that I'd need to downgrade my phone before removing the data package.
    Is there a work around this at all so I could keep my phone and remove the data package?
     
  2. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
  3. gmmurphy

    gmmurphy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    woods of ct and ma
    Ratings:
    +2
    What would be the point?
     
  4. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,958
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Put a dumb phone on the line and use it for calls and then use the Droid on wifi only.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  5. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Some people want to run a Droid to make phone calls and use nothing but WiFi for data. Verizon wants that $30 a month data package. You can see who will win in this argument. :)
     
  6. xazilizax

    xazilizax New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're right. They win. I lose! Boo


     
  7. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Exactly. Even if you were off-contract, the Droid is too high-end to have on Verizon's network without a data package of some kind.
     
  8. xazilizax

    xazilizax New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wanted to use my DROID for calls/texting and WiFi. I just wanted to remove the data package, but I guess I can't unless I downgrade my phone that doesn't require a data package. :(


     
Search tags for this page

is there a data package with the motorola droid devour

,

motorola phone data pack

,

will i need a data pack to run a motorola droid