1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Moto Droid 3G connection issues

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Soldiercloud, Nov 19, 2010.

  1. Soldiercloud
    Offline

    Soldiercloud New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the original Moto Droid. It has always worked fine for me but recently I've been having 3G issues. I will be using the internet then both arrows next to the 3G turn off and i lose my connection completely. This happens in areas that i have never had issues with before. It first started happening while i was using Pandora one day and has gotten progressively worse. From a few minutes without internet to a few hours.

    Ive tried resetting the phone which worked at first to taking the battery out and resetting it. Now none of that seems to work without losing connection again after a few minutes.

    Does anyone have any suggestions on what else i can do?
  2. nubby
    Offline

    nubby New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I have had the same thing. I see "data connection lost" also. Only the past 3 or 4 days.
  3. soatari
    Offline

    soatari New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    Yeah I've been having intermittent performance all week, but last night and today have been especially bad.
  4. parker34
    Offline

    parker34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Al
    Sometimes putting it in airplane mode for a few seconds works for me

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  5. loonie01
    Offline

    loonie01 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Same Here. It seems a battery pull did the job.
  6. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    10,999
    Likes Received:
    587
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Lol same here. Past few days crapola signal :)

    Sent from my Droid
  7. soatari
    Offline

    soatari New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    No such luck here. Crappy network performance no matter what I do, or where I'm at in my town. Can't listen to Pandora while I drive now, cus it just cuts out about a minute into each song =(
  8. J*Bishop
    Offline

    J*Bishop New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    odd me too. i'm in socal for what it's worth.
  9. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I live in Central PA and for the past hour my 3G has not been available.
  10. jamesgappleby
    Offline

    jamesgappleby New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    also Central PA with connection issues

    I've rebooted to get it back, but it keeps happening.

    Droid Pro
  11. Brent Bro
    Offline

    Brent Bro New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I installed Ultimate Droid 3.0.1 and since then my network connection shows disconnected. I can restore to an earlier rom and it works for a minute then it reboots and is gone again. I am getting extremely frustrated because I have all my work emails going through it. Any ideas on how to fix it?
  12. jsummersphd
    Offline

    jsummersphd New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As a Tier 1 Support Agent for a certain telecom company that shall remain nameless, I can tell you exactly what is causing the spotty 3G coverage nationwide (Florida here).

    This past week we experienced a large CME or Coronal Mass Ejection from the Sun. You may know it as a "solar flare." Basically, we've been inundated by trillions upon trillions of charged particles and cosmic rays far exceeding the normal thresholds.

    Fortunately, all it really did was knock out a few TV channels and cause a bunch of calls to get dropped... slow wireless connectivity... that sorta thing. No blackouts thank gawd... call volume was utterly ridiculous as it was.
  13. revchris
    Offline

    revchris New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am having the same problem since Saturday. Nothing works. I've wiped and reinstalled multiple roms (currently on chevy's 5.01). very annoying.
  14. verizondroid2global
    Offline

    verizondroid2global New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just try making a call to another verizon customer and tell them not to answer. hang up and your 3g signal should be back
  15. verizondroid2global
    Offline

    verizondroid2global New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    and ps i have not hacked my phone in any way shape or form
  16. drkaho
    Offline

    drkaho New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Seems to be some time when this thread was last addressed but it popped up when looking droid connection problems. Anyway, those are good solutions (airplane mode and reboot) to fix up problems related to lost connections but I would like to add one more. There's a widget available in Android Market that does pretty much the same thing with one-click-operation. Have a look if you're interested https://market.android.com/details?id=eu.versine.connectionfixer. I've personally found that useful and convenient tool several times already! :)
  17. cjane56
    Offline

    cjane56 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used to work for Verizon and I to have been having this issue...another option to fix this but unfortunately it only fixes the issue for a short time...updating the roaming capabilities by dialing *228 option 2...helps it for a lil while ...its recommended to update this at least once a month or a few times if you tend to travel a bit. Hope this helps some :)

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
Search tags for this page

droid pro 3g problems

,
droid pro connect issue