moto droid 2 cannot use clockwork

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by onicas, Jul 6, 2011.

1. onicas

onicas New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    hello all. i am very new to rooting (about 2 days), so i need some help making a stock recovery image. i refuse to do anything else besides the root without making a stock backup. my droid 2 will not boot into clockwork. here is what i have tried:

- re-flashing from rom manager over and over
    - flashing other version of CWM (all other options say error downloading except 2.5.0.8)
    - rooted using doroot and adb methods, each time uninstalling rom manager completely.
    - fix permissions from rom manager (did not work under the doroot method - said not enough rights, but did work after using adb)

i see people mentioning an "erase recovery" option from rom manager, but i do not see that option anywhere.

what i did notice is if i tell rom manager to reboot into recovery, but then hold the X on boot anyway, it brings up a little yellow bar at the bottom for a second but then boots like normal. holding X on boot any other time just brings me to stock droid e3 menu.

any help is appreciated, but please be as detailed as possible or link to tutorials as i am very new to this. thanks a lot!

2. islandak

islandak New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    You need Droid 2 Bootstrap

You can download Droid 2 bootstrap from the market. Run it, hit the"recovery" button, then hit the reboot button. Or use the 2nd init method if it's solid on the D2 now. Sorry I'm on my phone, but I'll check in later. Check out the Droid 2 forum. Hit the "Forum" link on the top left of the page and scroll down till you find it.

3. onicas

onicas New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the quick reply. got it to work and made a full backup. tested the restore too, works great.