1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Mororola Droid Bionic Ads Arrive at Best Buy

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Aug 18, 2011.

  1. dgstorm
    Offline

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6,767
    Likes Received:
    1,150
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    [​IMG]

    Earlier today we had a rumor that the Droid Bionic might come on August 26th. While there is no confirmation of this, some other signs seem to suggest that it is possible; the newest sign is that ads for the phone have begun showing up in Best Buy's Buyer's Guide. Some of the primary specs have been confirmed by the ad, but it still doesn't give a specific date or price. Regardless, the device showing up in Best Buy fliers is a very good sign!

    [​IMG]

    Source: BionicForums.net and AndroidCentral
  2. phatkat66
    Offline

    phatkat66 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    UGh VGA ffc..... i really wanted a 1.3mp that's the only flaw i find with this phone for myself. Everything else I really like but I want a clear image when i video chat with my friends << which has been a growing trend in my life lately.
  3. gmorgan056
    Offline

    gmorgan056 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    YAY!!!!! dancedroid:icon_ banana:
  4. steveninspokane
    Offline

    steveninspokane New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Interestingly enough, laptops having been using 1.3MP cameras for their webcams for years. Just how many MP to you plan on pushing through your connection and still expect crystal clear voice quality?
  5. phatkat66
    Offline

    phatkat66 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From what i've read, verizon's 4G connection is on par,give or take a couple of mbps, with a wifi/wired connection which a laptop IS running on. I rather use the 4g connection I will have available to push 1.3 mps than 0.3mps. I honestly never seen a VGA camera phone so Im not sure what to expect but from many many reviewers no one likes vga over 1.3 ffc
  6. Chizzele
    Offline

    Chizzele Team Sourcery Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    I with you on that, with all the hype around this phone you would think Moto would make a bit more current.
  7. Arkbird
    Offline

    Arkbird DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Virginia/Washington DC
    I'm sure we'll be fine with a VGA FFC. How often are you really going to use it???
  8. phatkat66
    Offline

    phatkat66 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I keep in touch with friends and family out of state. And each one of them after getting a phone with ffc has been bugging me to tango/oovoo/skype with them. We even use it the hard way (mirror in front of my rear cam) so im already using it pretty often. The FFC is just to ease what im already doing. Id just like for it to be clear and not murky looking or w.e. complaing people have with VGA
  9. steveninspokane
    Offline

    steveninspokane New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sure, a 1.3 or even 2 MP camera would pull better video than a VGA, however, Say I want to skype my with her iPhone4G (3g) phone that has a 2mp camera on it. Who is going to receive the better end of the deal? With my Bionic 4G, I am easily going to receive her 2MP quality, however, would she receive the same quality if I were transmitting a 1.3MP or even 2MP back at her? Quick answer, No.

    I believe that is the reason why Moto has kept the VGA, because it will still have fair video, and it will transmit faster to someone whose phone has either 3G or 4G. Good Point?
  10. Arkbird
    Offline

    Arkbird DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Virginia/Washington DC
    Well most programs like Skype and Oovoo (I believe) only use max resolutions of 640 by 480 without you having to pay for HD streaming anyways. I don't know if this is how it works for phones too but I still don't think you're going to be streaming video in a much higher resolution than that. And we don't know how well the VGA camera works on the Bionic so let's not knock it yet.
  11. Arkbird
    Offline

    Arkbird DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Virginia/Washington DC
    Very good point. But couldn't you just lower the resolution of the video while streaming or video chatting? Just a thought.
  12. steveninspokane
    Offline

    steveninspokane New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, but, really what else would you use a front facing camera for? Unless your a teenage girl that wants to hold your phone over your head and take another 100 pictures of yourself that look exactly the same. :p
  13. Arkbird
    Offline

    Arkbird DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Virginia/Washington DC
    Okay fair enough, you win. I was just thinking of a higher quality picture. I mean if this is a 4G phone and you can use applications like skype over 4G, than the bandwith should be able to handle higher resolutions like 2MP at the most for FFC? Just another thought.
    1 person likes this.
  14. joker402
    Offline

    joker402 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought the iPhone 4 was VGA? Anyways I call say that for FFC you don't need high MP. Do high MP mean nice quality? Yes but its not that noticible. On my Xoom, charge, TB, evolution and of galaxy tap it was all the same quality when I video chat with others. Atleast to me it didn't make that much of a difference.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  15. phatkat66
    Offline

    phatkat66 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is how I feel as well. I would like to have the 1.3/2.0mp available and just go to settings to stream to 0.3vga quality. Instead of having 0.3vga forced and the only option.

    Like our 8mp 1080p video recording ability. Do I take all my pix in 8mp of course not, majority is 5mp and sometimes for emails/text ill shrink it to 3mp. I prefer option over force.

    But i agree i should wait and see how the bionic's vga camera comes out and judge from there. I would just be more attracted to a full on "everything i need is here!" spec sheet instead of that one ugly spot that is drawing my attention.
    1 person likes this.
  16. Arkbird
    Offline

    Arkbird DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Virginia/Washington DC
    Well I'm sure everyone is really just looking for quality when it comes to the FCC. As long as it's decent, I'm fine with it being VGA.
  17. King_Bean
    Offline

    King_Bean New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought I was a phone nerd until I came to this website and started reading threads like this. I've got nothing on you guys.
  18. pollardhimself
    Offline

    pollardhimself New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If the stratosphere "galaxy s2" isn't here the 8th, guess I'm buying this thing the only thing putting my off is its missing the ability to talk and browse at the same time
  19. phatkat66
    Offline

    phatkat66 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's a feature i can live without. None of the phones I owned have that features so Im not really missing much. Except it would be nice if I can drive on the phone while the GPS stayed fully active.
    1 person likes this.
  20. ConqSoft
    Offline

    ConqSoft New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    With LTE you can talk and browse at the same time. Just not in 3G areas.