More proof of two RAZR devices?

Discussion in 'Android News' started by Malvado, Oct 25, 2011.

  1. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    [​IMG]



    Yesterday Shadez posted a thread on the possibility of ATT getting a RAZR device. Well after some "investigating", I didnt find much but I did find this article on Motorola's blog. It is an update log of what phones are on what Android OS. Before they list the devices and what OS they are currently on, there is a note from them about the ICS update

    Notice how there is not 1 but 2 RAZR's on there. There is the DROID RAZR and then the MOTOROLA RAZR. Now this may not mean anything at all. It can simply be a mistake on Motorola's behalf. But I thought it was a little weird having them list the RAZR twice with different brandings before them.

    SOURCE: https://supportforums.motorola.com/community/manager/softwareupgrades

    Attached Files:

    1 person likes this.
  2. johnomaz
    Offline

    johnomaz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,461
    Likes Received:
    249
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Central Valley, California
    I think its accurate. I wouldn't give the Droid name to AT&T. Keep that with Verizon.
  3. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,450
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    I like the ICS part :)
  4. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For what it's worth. I'm positive Moto confirmed the existence of an overseas razr + it being multi carrier in the USA.

    Verizon just gets it first. Kind if like how Cingular had the first razr for a bit.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  5. Detonation
    Offline

    Detonation New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Also note the omission of any other phone, such as the Droid 3. I can understand if the X/X2 don't get it, but the Droid 3 is only 2 months older than the Bionic and has almost the exact same specs.
  6. Heywood
    Offline

    Heywood New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PDX
    Remember back in the day, Moto had the RAZR and the KRZR
  7. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    True, but Motorola also said they would add more devices to the list. The listed devices aren't the only ones getting it, they are just the "for sure" ones. They mentioned they would add more devices as soon as ICS is release by Google.
  8. zomnomnombie
    Offline

    zomnomnombie Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Motorola RAZR is the international RAZR. Droid RAZR is the US model.

    Sent from my R2 unit using DroidForums
    1 person likes this.
  9. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,450
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Well Google did say any phone that can run GB will receive ICS so I wouldn't be to worried.
  10. BigFwoosh
    Offline

    BigFwoosh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, this is what Motorola said during the RAZR event last week. The Droid branding is a US thing. Similarly, the Droid 1, 2, and 3 are the Milestone 1, 2, and 3 overseas.
  11. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,450
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    There may actually be 3 RAZR's .. 2 in the US, 1 overseas. One of the 2 US versions will be a global version. From hint's I've been receiving.
  12. tno
    Offline

    tno New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Moto RAZR will no doubt be a pentaband GSM phone so we can expect that it will be available for AT&T and T-Mobile. The branding was announced previously, so yes, two models (SKUs), one GSM, one CDMA/LTE.
  13. Chizzele
    Offline

    Chizzele Team Sourcery Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Well my OG runs GB pretty well (after complete SBF and ReRoot) so how about some ICS love for it ;)
  14. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gotta talk to the ROMMERS bout that. Though when I brought it up on petes forum people weren't too warn to it.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  15. bazar6
    Offline

    bazar6 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MD
    My OG Droid was smoking and sizzling on GB, theres no way ICS will be able to go on it lol. Can't wait til they release a timeline for the Xoom upgrade.