1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

More Memory?

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by baldybill, Sep 21, 2011.

  1. baldybill
    Offline

    baldybill New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do I free up more memory. I have SS 5.5 installed and about 60 apps, most of which are on the SD card and I have about 27 meg free and often get "running out of space" errors when I update a program or 2.

    How do I free up more space?
    Do I need to put the ROM on a partition? And how do I do that?
    Is there anything I can go in and delete?
  2. 666ogre666
    Offline

    666ogre666 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Delete some apps? That'd be the easiest.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  3. bryantjopplin
    Offline

    bryantjopplin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shreveport
    I have 139 apps including system apps. I can still install and download more. I would suggest finding similar apps with smaller footprints. I also use cache cleaner nightly to reduce the cache the apps store daily. Sure it takes a second longer to reload for a specific app but its worth it to me.
    Oh and I still have 60 megs free on internal too.
  4. googlelover
    Offline

    googlelover New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Why do people's apps use so much storage... I still have 47 MB's free and I got 153 apps W/ system apps, or 80 W/O them. What you should do is go to storage use and make sure one or two apps aren't eating all your free storage. FB can reach up to 50 MB's if you let it get outa control, and try n move all apps other than the ones you need at boot, such as overclocking apps or others like that, and widget apps, all the others don't really need to be in your internal storage.
  5. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    I use links2sd to get free space.
  6. treybarnes66
    Offline

    treybarnes66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree with jcwilliams, I also use links2sd. It is free in the market. You can use Rom Manager to partition your sd card. Just make sure to make a backup of everything on it first.
  7. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    I actually couldn't get rom manager to work for me I had to use a pc program to do mine but all I have to say is do some reading before trying bc I dove right in with the pc program and it took me a while to figure how to use it.

    Good luck if you choose to try.
  8. baldybill
    Offline

    baldybill New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how does this differ/ better than apps2sd?
  9. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH

    When I get a minute after work I will link you or you can just google links2sd xda forums and it'll come up. Look over there and they explain it all. Basically it helped me with a faster start up and space bc with apps2sd you have to wait for sdcard to mount to use apps that are on there well with links2sd you don't have to wait bc its a diff partition that never mounts and unmounts. Same with when mounting sdcard to laptop to move music you can still use all apps that are linked to sd bc the main partition only gets unmounted not the one you make for apps...

    Hope all makes sense...
  10. baldybill
    Offline

    baldybill New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, that all makes sense.

    When I install it, should I move the apps back to the phone via app2Sd before moving them via links2sd?
  11. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH

    you can actually move and do what you need to in links2sd. but yes they have to be in internal memory before linking them to sdcard.
  12. baldybill
    Offline

    baldybill New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, Got the SD card partitioned using the Mini Tool Partion thing. But the Droid is not recognizing it now. Any thoughts?
  13. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    The droid won't recognize what? The sdcard?
  14. baldybill
    Offline

    baldybill New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Correct. The droid is not recognizing the SD CARD. Any thoughts?
  15. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    Yep I prolly know what the problem is (if I'm correct its minor). I won't be home till like 1030 I will look into it for you bc I would butcher it if I tried to explain it now...
  16. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    Try this:

    Plug phone up with sdcard in and mount in the program....

    Should have the main sdcard partition as primary and active and named drive e I believe. When I did mine I lost my drive name and mine would recognize it either. Let me know what you find?
  17. baldybill
    Offline

    baldybill New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No it didn't.

    But I was able to find another workaround that might do the trick, testing it now.


    BTW, It said to make the regular/primary drive as FAT...but that's limited to 4GB (out of 16GB card). Is there another format I can use such as NTSF or something? Thanks!
  18. baldybill
    Offline

    baldybill New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what directions did you use to partition your sd card?
  19. rck76
    Offline

    rck76 Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,841
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can use rom manager to make your ext partition. Just back up your SD card first as clockworkmod recovery will format your SD card during the process.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  20. baldybill
    Offline

    baldybill New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If I use the rom manager to make your ext partition, doesn't that make partitions that are less than 1 GB for storage?
Search tags for this page
droid 3 getting more ram
,
droid x2 change ram location
,
droid x2 how to make more space
,
droid x2 need more memory
,
droid x2 use sd for more ram
,

extra memory for droid x2

,
get more ram on android x2
,
how to get more memory on android bionic
,
how to get more memory on droid bionic
,

how to get more memory on droid x2

,

how to get more memory on motorola droid

,
how to get more memory on my droid x
,
how to get more ram from droid dx2
,

how to get more ram on droid x2

,
where is ram on droid x2