More home screens?

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by andy123, Feb 13, 2010.

  1. andy123

    andy123 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there any way to make it so you have more then three home screens? A setting or an app that allows you to have more then 3 home screens for Droid?
     
  2. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    Several... either install a HomeScreen replacement (Home++, SweeterHome ect.) or you can install the 2.1 Launcher (the default launcher from 2.1 that's been pulled and ported to run on 2.0.1 ROMs).
     
  3. andy123

    andy123 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm Sorry but what is a ROM? And is the 2.1 launcher a Droid software update?


    -Also, sorry for being a n00b
     
  4. SSHGuru

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    There are home replacement apps you can download for free but they will slow down your phone and cause some FC's.

    The launcher from 2.1 is buggy as hell - don't bother yet until 2.1 is officially out and then they will have it for us. I am waiting for that.
     
  5. andy123

    andy123 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do we know when it officially comes out? Will the Droid download it automatically?
     
  6. Magdroid

    Magdroid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Droid will notify you when there is an update. Right now, there is a app called "Launcher (beta)" but it also is buggy. Wait for 2.1, we should be getting it some time this month. If it doesn't come with 5 home screens, then use the 3rd party app. Anywho..yeah, the droid WILL let you know when it is ready to update. It will be pushed OTA (Over The Air) from Verizon to your phone.
     
  7. SSHGuru

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    If the update doesnt come with 5 screens the guys at Android Central say they will have an APK for the 5 screens that is not buggy since it will be running a 2.1 app on 2.1. That's why it's buggy now running on 2.01.

    I am waiting for that.
     
  8. gotta have that funk

    gotta have that funk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    just download Launcher+ search for it in the market.
     
  9. SSHGuru

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    Read the reviews it's buggy on the Droid. It's also Home ++ without the features.

     
  10. gotta have that funk

    gotta have that funk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    whatever you say kimosabe, i guess everyone should just listen to you instead of trying something for themselves.
     
  11. SSHGuru

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    Just giving him information he would have to spend time the hard way to find out. I don't know where you go that stick up your butt.

    I've been working on getting 5 screens for a while and after much work the solution is to be patient for 2.1.

    I never told him not to play if he wants.

     
  12. andy123

    andy123 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So hopefully 2.1 will add more screens. But if not, download the APK form Android Central? Whats an APK tho?
     
  13. solorca

    solorca Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    I spent all day yesterday trying to find a good one, but I had no luck. I used Panda, Home++, Launcher+, OpenHome, and a few others and they were all buggy and caused forced closes. I finally gave up, and will just deal with the stock until 2.1

    For the record, Home++ was the least buggy of the group.
     
  14. wtabke

    wtabke New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    For a couple months, I have been using dxTop. It now has an option for 5 home screens and have been quite happy with it.

    Not as snappy as the default, but has some great features.

    Bill
     
  15. chadgqx

    chadgqx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I LOVE GDE.... works great for me.....
     
Search tags for this page

how do i add more home screenson my thunderbolt