More Froyo

Discussion in 'Android News' started by mth04, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. AngDroid

    AngDroid Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    After a few days and tyring to keep up with the thread I finally loaded up 2.2. Everything went smooth going from root 2.1 to 2.2. I ran into none of the issues with google maps or market that some had. I installed Root Explorer, Aoutstarts and SetCPU which can be moved to the SD card. I went ahead and moved them to the SD Card. After that I noticed that my phone slowed down on me a lot and LauncherPro Beta no longer saw the programs as installed and hence no shortcuts for them in my App draw.

    Anyone notice the same thing as I?

    Oh and for those that were getting a lot of slow cause of the market syncing, goto settings, Privacy, check back up my settings, uncheck automatic restore and then uncheck back up my settings. I did that before I went into the market redownload my apps and did not run into the sync slow down issue that many others have ran.

    One other thing, I have seen a lot of posts about people downloading some kernels and they are not showing the right speed. I had this happen to myself too. I downloaded the 1GHz kernel. After installed it only showed 600. What you need to do is get SetCPU and then set 1000 Mhz at boot. The first time you move the slider for the speed in SetCPU you will get the 1000MHz option and then need to set at boot.
     
  2. subsynth

    subsynth Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    So far I have had ZERO issues with this build. It installed flawlessly.

    Everything was restored in a few minutes, wireless works, 3g works, Market works, Gallery and camera work. Didn't loose Root, Titanium successfully downloaded Busybox no problem.

    I removed some bloat via Titanium and restored data for my apps flawlessly as well.

    Just running the official kernel that was included at 800mhz

    12.737 linpack

    1025 Quadrant
     
  3. EvilWays

    EvilWays Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    car dock

    can custom apps be put in the blacnk spaces on the car dock?
     
  4. michael_campbell

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta suburbia.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Like he said, everyone will have a preference, but the "force closing" of LauncherPro is not typical. I haven't heard of any widespread issues with LP with 2.2, or 2.1 either.

    ADW sounds nifty; when I next update my rom and have to go through setting up the home screens again, I might try it!
     
  5. jcboyett

    jcboyett Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia, United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know if anyone has asked this yet, but is there a way to get more than 5 screens on froyo. I'm used to the helix launcher givin me 7.
     
  6. RW-1

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,245
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Not that I use it, but ADW needs to be updated to use the 2.2 google search widget, it still shows to old one, or I'm missing something.

    Plus, no one hath responded and told me if they also lost their "droid" startup/shutdown sound... :(
     
  7. BlazinCaucasian

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    launcherpro will give you 7 is you go into the settings
     
  8. BlazinCaucasian

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    no "droid" sound here either
     
  9. MAD450r

    MAD450r Theme Developer
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +1
    Im still on the original release

    is it worth updating now or should I wait. Most things but a few 3rd party apps are working for me fine. So right now I think Im good till people start telling us whats newly added in certain releases. I have seen 3 or 4 I guess now but am reluctant to start over only to find out there's a newer better one out again in a few days.

    That or i'll wait for Pete's BB release for froyo.
     
  10. RW-1

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,245
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Relief ... Well, looks like we could start a club! :)
     
  11. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,491
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    There was some talk about whether or not the link at MDW and the link we have are the same Froyo a bit back.

    I have installed the Froyo from the link at MDW and it is the exact same build.

    I have even changed the links on the front page to go to that same link. So there shouldn't be any difference. There never was.
     
  12. hemorrdroid

    hemorrdroid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, on launcher pro, from the home screen, press menu button, and choose preferences, number of screens.
     
Search tags for this page

ally/froyo.zip

,
download lego-rom.zip
,
droid life froyo-bs-20100608-0521-zip
,
froyo franklin,tn
,
lg ally froyo hack
,
lg ally stock rom zip
,
lg ally your system is currently up to date
,
the ultimate p3droid torrent