Monitor Temp of Overclocked Droid.

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by olletsocmit, Feb 6, 2010.

  1. olletsocmit
    Offline

    olletsocmit New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have my droid clocked at 800mhz and using the BB rom. Loving it so far!

    I use SetCPU to both overclock my phone and also monitor the battery temp. you open SetCPU, then hit system info. Battery temp is the first thing.

    Then i use temp monitor. it puts the cpu temp in the top left taskbar. works pretty well. it seems to be almost the same as the battery temp all the time. does this app really measure cpu temp?
  2. Bear in NM
    Offline

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ollet,

    I have been round and round with this question in many of the overclock threads. No one has convinced me there is more than one temp sensor on the phone. Perhaps there is an additional sensor in the acclerometer. what one member here told me is the temp app responds quicker to changes in temp. Supposedly quicker than the battery temp info.

    As all of the "stuff" is in the case, including the battery, what I have kinda decided is that rather than try and nail down whether one is better, the app, setcpu or the voice dialer temp, pick one, use it. I can almost guarantee that the cpu does not have a dedicated sensor. Therefore chasing back and forth try to get the official correct one is gonna be like using ap killer programs. A lot of wasted anality:)

    Craig
  3. AdamZ
    Offline

    AdamZ Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay... I hope I can clear this up a little at least...

    There is only ONE temperature sensor in the phone... (Unless there is one that no one knows about and no one can access...) The sensor is located near the battery and the processor is located near the "with Google" logo... so they are kind of close - but not close enough. Don't get me wrong... it's the only way we have to monitor it, so I use it as well... but your processor is definitely running at a different temperature than is listed. Even SetCPU will show it says "Battery Temp"... if there was another sensor, I'm sure he would have used it instead...
    (I know I wish there was... :icon_ banana: )
  4. LrdElderon
    Offline

    LrdElderon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    <3 Oh yeah finally someone that devs that agrees with me. I had people argue with me that there was only 1 temp sensor and it was mainly for the battery. They kept trying to say different.

    There are only two issues for .. well three.

    -one is how hot does the proc really get? we need someone that is knowledgeable enough to dismantle the phone and have it run under various loads with a temp sensor probe placed on the cpu itself. It's the only real way to see the change. Someone also mentioned that while cpu heat overall is fine, power segments or whatever they are called could in fact be getting too hot (like 1 core of a quad core burning up but overall the cpu temp avg is normal)...

    -two How hot can the battery actually handle and what effects can we expect if we are constantly reaching or exceeding the max rec temp (45c).?

    -three is kind of a personal matter I guess. Perhaps a list of various cases that work well for overclocked phones. I use the bodyglove, freaking tank of a case. VERY thick and sturdy however it keeps heat trapped like crazy and I see temps hit 40-45+c pretty easy just web browsing....

    edit: doesn't it seem strange to anyone else that we have a modern cpu with no way to show it's temperature? that's been in desktop chips for a long time now... I hope any new versions of cpu that is used in a new moto droid replacement for say 4g (oh please) will have a this mistake remedied.
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2010
  5. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    The processor is rated at -40 through 100 degree's Celsius, so I don't see an issue at all on mine, it get's no where near that.
  6. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    There ARE multiple temp sensors in the phone the battery temp is just the 'easiest' to get as it's has it's own report to the system and can be retrieved w/o major programing. In addition there are and least two other confirmed sensors on the actual board that provide better estimates of the CPU temp because they are temperatures from other board components.
    AllDroid - View topic - [Release] Temp Monitor (Updated 02/02/10)
  7. olletsocmit
    Offline

    olletsocmit New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks guys. I just looked at my battery temp in both SetCPU and a battery widget, which tells the battery temp. They both said 26. But when i looked at the app TempMonitor (the one the puts the temp in the taskbar, costs 2 bucks) it says 23. so im not sure if TempMonitor is off or the other 2 are.
  8. leftbrain99
    Offline

    leftbrain99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think the answer to your question lies in the info at the link just above your post.
  9. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    TempMonitor is a more accurate representation of the "CPU" temp because it is taking the temperature from components on the board (i.e. closer to the CPU) and not from the battery sensor.
  10. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the Temperature Monitor was written optimally for Taz's new overclock kernels, and it provides temperature from another sensor (presumably on on the board, near the cpu). as such, the temp readings are usually around 2C higher than the battery at any given moment. i highly recommend Taz's new overclock kernels (1.3 was not stable for me though) and i also recommend the Temp monitor (located on the Market for $1.99). awesome reporting in the notification bar!!
  11. CatsTide
    Offline

    CatsTide New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bama
    and we sure don't want to waste that, do we?
  12. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    I use the Seidio Innocase, which is pretty thin and much thinner than the BodyGlove case, and I am getting those same temperatures when using the browser. When playing the free game "Jewels", I can get up to 52 Celsius pretty consistently. Seems strange for such a simple game with simple graphics. I can play 3D games, such as Homerun Battle 3D, and the temperature isn't getting near as hot as the Jewels game causes.
  13. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Many other developers have mentioned there is only one temp sensor on the driod.... not sure who is correct here.
  14. 52brandon
    Offline

    52brandon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The trouble with your idea in point one is that if you take it apart, you would at best have the case specs altered and the reading wouldn't exactly be accurate to a normal droid
  15. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i would talk to dustinmj over at alldroid.org... i find it hard to believe that he fabricated his program to fake another reading, but anything's possible
  16. Bear in NM
    Offline

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Hey man, I had a smiley. My point was that the op is/was using 3 different methods, trying to get the "best". And we all seem to be missing one very important issue. Our processor is rated to 105C. I would argue that as that is hot enough to boil water, I honestly feel that any of the three methods, or using the old thumb to feel the bottom of the phone is likley to work. Even Dustin and Taz reported that they have seen 65C, and a lot of folks are freaking at values in the 45 range. I have run mine to the point of it feeling pretty hot (maps, music while driving), but imho, the temp was no where near what someone in Phoenix could get the phone up to by leaving the phone on the dash in the summer, while making a call:)

    With that said, I did not realize that Taz and Justin teamed up with the app, so I am gonna download it more to give both of them some money. I'll keep an eye on the temp in the bar, but I sure am not gonna loose any sleep over readings.

    Craig
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2010
  17. Hugh Jass
    Offline

    Hugh Jass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I don't understand the thought process of giving temp readings to the battery priority over temp readings of the processor. To me and just about anyone in the world I should think, the processor is where the real danger is. I could give a rats ass how hot the battery is, I can feel that with my freakin' hand...in fact I just did, and it didn't melt my flesh so there you go, everything's good here! Pfft...what a joke.

    Is their some kind of logic I'm missing here?
  18. Bear in NM
    Offline

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Hugh,

    If you fry the processor, the phone dies. If you overheat the LI battery and it explodes, uh, major lawsuit by the phone owner or his/her heirs:)

    Seriously, there have been a few threads that I have seen here or on the other board where folks who know something about batteries have chimed in. Can be some pretty serious stuff.

    Craig
  19. CatsTide
    Offline

    CatsTide New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bama
    i meant no offense...i just thought it was funny and wanted to join in on the fun....weird sense of humor i guess....
  20. Hugh Jass
    Offline

    Hugh Jass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Maybe I should clarify. There should be safety measures for batteries of course, but why they can't give us some readings from the processor seems illogical when I can't know the temp of the processor but clearly can FEEL the temp of the battery. When I run navigation and charge the phone at the same time the battery gets pretty damn hot, but the only thing that needs to know how hot is the software that has safety measures to prevent bodily harm, I already know it's hot and don't care HOW hot, know what I mean? With the processor I really want to know exactly how hot it's running when I'm really putting it through the paces. Battery temp is simply trivial information to me.

    Or perhaps it is known from testing that processor heat is irrelevant because the battery fails first. Who knows...but I sure would like a reading anyway.
Search tags for this page

android heat sensor